I Am A Dreamer (Sorry, not sorry)

in #poetry5 years ago


It appears to me that more and more with each passing day humanity, in its futile attempts to achieve a state of infinite openness and welcoming of multitudes of perspectives, instead, inches ever closer and closer to a self-destructive preference for an authoritarian existence.

Whether this is artificially orchestrated or a naturally occurring phenomenon as a result of the human ego, I am not certain. In either case, I don't like where this is headed.

“The only real prison is fear, and the only real freedom is freedom from fear.”
—Aung San Suu Kyi, Nobel Peace Prize 1991


oppression-458621_1920.jpg

I AM A DREAMER


Fear of rejection
Becoming a societal outcast
With social coercion
Perpetuated by a ministry of narcissism
Working its magick
Suppressing free will
That only hopes for big dreams
Dreaming of happiness
In perfect brotherly harmony
Wanting to plant seeds and flourish
In free thoughts of creativity
Instead, forced to follow a scripted narrative
Boxed up like prepackaged confectionery
Dolls in your dollhouse made to bend at our knees
Our minds are sovereign for all eternity
Your Utopia of control is of no interest to me
For I am a dreamer
Despite these chains that bind my voice
My thoughts will always be free


by Free In Thought

LOGO Free In Thought.png

Sort:  

it's artificially orchestrated. the digital tyranny is almost here.

got soil and seeds?

I fear you may be correct. I'm simultaneously proud of our collective ability for compassion and empathy yet sorrowful for the proliferation of greed and narcissism. Thanks for the comment. :)

me too - and so is God i think. hence the need for redemption, so we do only the compassion and helping others like Jesus and none of the flawed side of man.

just so you know, the bible is truth the church is false, a dichotomy just like man. peace.

Congratulations @freeinthought! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54478.01
ETH 2290.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35