Happy As The Day I Turned Sixteen

in #poetry7 years ago


Happy As The Day I Turned Sixteen


Life is beautiful
And so am I
My dreams I mean
I've had them since sixteen

I will prevail in my quest to be the best
I'll be happy again
Come hell or high water
As the day of the birth of my beautiful daughter

But back to age sixteen
A time when everything seemed possible
And why not
It's a value so easily forgot

I was idealistic
Altruistic
Naive
But willing to believe

I only want to be equal parts selfish and giving
Dishing out love unconditionally
While in the arms of her warm embrace
Admiring her beauty we lock eyes standing face to face

We are equal
Her and I
But secretly she is my Queen
My raison d'être, you know what I mean

Spontaneity
Is my deity
She is the spice of life
That melts my troubles slaying all strife

Wanting to live and breathe to the fullest
No regrets
No looking back
There's just faith that I am on the right track

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.





Images and Audio used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

My D-Tube Channel

Sort:  

That awkward moment when you have to google raison d'être :(

Ahh, I remember being 16, thinking Imma show the world who's boss, I was wondering why people are so gloom, we all have so much potential. Reality hits when you get older, doesn't it ?

Thanks for the comment. Yes, life seems so much harder as we age. Then I imagine in the final years of old age it seems simpler again. Do we regain our youthful outlook on life in our late years? Was it the wisdom acquired over a lifetime of learning?

That's a great thought ! Does it take a lifetime to realize something we already knew as kids ?

Mind=blown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80