Dream Killers (Killing you softly)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


DREAM KILLERS


Intoxicated by self misery
The world is out to get her
Conspiring to defeat her ambitions
Self pity permeates her every selfish pore

Delusional and self absorbed
A professional victim
A Princess all her life
A broken nail is her definition of hardship and strife

While he aspires to greatness
Living each day with hard work, optimism and glee
For the potential abundance the universe can provide
Family and meaningful relationships he values so dearly

Loyal to no end
He appreciates her sadness, empathizing to the best of his ability
Giving up on his dreams to attend to her needs
A fool's errand it slowly chips at his sanity

Why should he be happy when she is not?
That's the mentality when you're constantly treated like royalty
Entitled to the spoils of life
He should shut up and never complain, what's his gripe?

You've got it so great
Be a man and buy me a house with a picket fence
There's only one thing on your mind, I don't care if it's true
Alright I admit, I use it to manipulate you

Cook your own damn meals, I'm not your slave
By the way what's for dinner tonight
Pick up after yourself, I'm not your maid
While you're at do the laundry and fold the clothes, I'm too tired today

I'm a Princess haven't you heard the news?
Do I have to do everything, you're so useless
Oh and I hate your parents too
Don't even think about visiting them this Christmas.

Deteriorating slowly he rots from inside out
Drifting in and out of sadness like a waltz
She is a dream killer
With uninterrupted stomping on his heart still bitching about his oh so many faults

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.




abstract-3166168_960_720.png

Images used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

All written material is copyrighted (c) by @freeinthought the year it was posted

Sort:  

Great work here, sister. You go girl! (sorry, if I misgendered you - but if you are a man, I'd have to rewrite my comment and chastise you instead of praise your poetry)

Thank you friend. I appreciate the support and love the sarcasm. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84