Discombobulated (Collectivist Nightmares)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


DISCOMBOBULATED


Disembodied I'm not
A case of disenfranchisement and disassociation
Is what I've got

This paradigm
Its systems and norms
Telling me what to think
How to act
It guides my life
In every respect
Ever changing for the worse
It conflicts with my moral compass
My ethics
My faith
There is no free will
Every decision spelled out in a new code
No freedom any longer
I'm a lone voice traveling down a collectivist road

Indebted for life
Wrapped up in contracts
Too much to lose
Enslaving my better judgement
It's vibrancy
Once energetically stoking the fires of life
Testing it
Exploring its boundaries
In short
It's been suppressed
I'm not afraid to offend
Just the wrath that upon me will descend
My vitality is on life support

I keep dreaming to live
Filling my mind with hope and fantasies
Of memories that seem so distant
A time when truth actually mattered
They keep me going for now
But not in perpetuity
You can only bury your head in the sand for so long
Before it chokes the living breath from your lungs
I pray that the joke's not on me
That there will be a way to break free
For now I am a walking dichotomy
Conflicted outwardly with what's within
Holding back the zombies at the gate
This is no fantasy

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.

Images used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

All written material is copyrighted (c) by @freeinthought the year it was posted

Title Image Credit

Sort:  

I remember Whitman's poem about infinity inscribed within one's self. Yes, it sounds somewhere in your poem.

Thank you for the comment. It's a fascinating concept. I'm sure there's truth to it.

Welcome. You know, i strongly feel we still know little about exactly this infinity. Chomsky once said that there are biological boundaries for enhancing human knowledge... So we may never fully grasp ourselves really ;) .

Hello freeinthought!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82