'Sweet Liberty' a poem, of sorts...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

sweet_liberty_tankman3622f.md.png

sweet liberty, I never thought
I’d see the spring, the tyrants rot
and vanquished from, the minds of men
our enemy, leviathan

sweet liberty, I did not pay
the price to dance, with you today
i look across, the times to thank
one nameless man, before a tank

the slave that stood, himself to own
his voice now ground, into the stone
with multitudes, who fell before
coerced into, the plots of war

sweet liberty, i did not dream
I’d see the spring, and shoots so green
nor hear the voice, of Thomas Paine
who calls us to, his ancient flame

sweet liberty, you’ve found us all
encamped around, a man named Paul,
our chantings loud, our mission true
your champions, no longer few

sweet liberty, for both of us
for me to drink, for you to cuss
for us to build, for us to trade
and carry arms, in our parade

sweet liberty, for you and I
for me to think, for you to fly
for us to choose, the ones we love
and contemplate, what gods above

volitional, without control
the best in us, will spark and flow
and to the stars, will humans rise
with liberty, our enterprise

sweet liberty, for everyone
all humankind, below the sun
for all to speak, and laugh, and shout
and live in peace, and move about

sweet liberty, is mutual
from you to me, and back in full
so long as we, will do no harm
sweet liberty, is ours to charm

--- the end ---

so I wrote that back in 2012 as a tribute to the unknown dissidents, who took silent stands without applause, and who would die without ever knowing the 'sweet liberty' which is possible in our time.

Let's #buildfreedom

Sort:  

From my own experience I know that I can be far freer while held forcibly within a prison then the persons paid to "guard" me there.

"The first freedom is the freedom from 'like' and 'dislike'."
John G. Bennett

Doing only what you like is akin to hopping on one foot towards a distant goal.

The Ron Paul reference in your excellent poem is clue to the fact that the struggle needs be as much (perhaps more) internal than external.

true and thoughtful comments. thanks.

poised and beautifully written

thanks. I used to write poetry when I was young and had a lot of sexual energy I guess. This one was the only poem I wrote in the last 20 years and I was sicker than a dog and high on cold medicine. I will post some of my young man's stuff if I can find it lolz

sounds good :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55