Mac Miller Has Died, At Age 26 - RIP - Daily Spigot 9/8/18

in #poetry6 years ago

Mac Miller Has Died, At Age 26 - RIP

Mac Miller died of an overdose apparently, and was found deceased in his dwelling.
A 911 call had been made from the house; if he made the call, they’re not telling.
He and Ariana Grande, were a couple for a couple of years.
They broke up in May, and social media say, it’s her fault they’re now shedding tears.

A doctor, identified by her ticket, wasn’t called ‘doctor’, but Miss.
An attendant on-board the aircraft, saw her ticket then uttered a diss.
Why the attendant thought the title was optional, is something we can’t explain,
The doctor then made a mistake herself, telling Twitter, which caused her some pain.
Yes, we can always depend on Twitter, a live hate mob that lurks in the dark.
They’ve viciously attacked the doctor - it’s trending; they’re totally missing the mark.

Many apps in the “Apple App Store”, sell your data to make a few bucks.
Developers get paid to grab our data; Apple’s allowing it certainly sucks.
TechCrunch's article lists apps and programmers, who put cash above peoples’ rights.
Unless you don’t mind being spied upon daily, it’s best to dump these parasites.

Microsoft’s created a grease-proof controller, for those who like eating while playing
Games on their X-Box and can’t stop to eat; just think what this scene is conveying.
It brings back to mind, a South Park episode, when they played World of Warcraft non-stop.
There’s a contest to win a controller, one of five that will keep out grease slop.


Source:
The Cost Is Low To Remove Excess Co2 – Why Aren’t They?

The more that we read about carbon dioxide, and how it’s a threat all around,
We still have to wonder what’s going on, when a solution to remove it’s been found.
94 dollars per metric ton is the cost to extract it from the air.
Yet all anyone continues to do, is to argue about how it got there.

Scientists now can produce a mineral, that could end the global warming.
In nature it takes hundreds of thousands of years, for the mineral, Magnesite’s forming.
The scientists’ method takes 72 hours, for Magnesite to be produced.
So, will they do this or like Co2 extraction, see to it that they’re never used?

The news, the news, there's so much in the news
The daily fabrications are so grand.
You likely won't be seeing much differing of views
Because they're all in lock step, understand?


Source:

Sort:  

I tried to care about the news so I can comment since I like your posts but abhor the content. Make sense? Most likely not. I did read and even visited most links so here I would like to add:

The doctor lady should just become a man, and I gave as much thought to that as I do about anything related to equality. Maybe we need to bring propaganda tactics back and just remind everyone that none of the shit they are whining about matters but they should try to not give others reason to whine in the first place.

That rapper dude sucks and maybe we have a bit more oxygen in the atmosphere.

Tech will do what they want because people keep buying their shit. Case and point a greaseproof controller, most likely at some crazy cost also.

Shoot me now please.

Great post though, it is not your fault the world is topsy turvy.

Yes, it does make sense. Believe it or not, I have an inward sense of responsibility to be truthful with my poems and the stories that I’m creating the poems about, as though I’m an honest journalist, which I’m not, really. So for the stories that I pick each day to try to accomplish that goal, I make sure that any of relevant facts from the story that I use, aren’t changed in my poetic version of what actually happened.

The first poem, about Mac Miller, is based on the factual information from the story referenced without any of my personal opinions added. I try to make the lead poem, to which the picture and headline are attached, one that’s based on something in the news that I feel will interest the most viewers on steemit, and bring them in to read it, along with the other three poems. This story seemed to be one that probably a lot of people would connect to, as the guy was fairly popular from some background info that I discovered. He also seems to have been influential in helping other rappers gain success in their careers, so that had to be today’s lead. I actually prefer stories like this, because I can honestly write the poem, composed completely of facts, and can even add some wit or humor without changing the facts, when it occurs to me. With a story on a death, however, I never add any of that, as I recognize it as a reverent time to show respect.

Some days, news that’s good for writing poems about, just isn’t easy to find, particularly on the weekends. I decided fairly early on, when I thought of this idea for a kind of unique, poetic form of news content, that reporting on political stories is bad for Daily Spigot posts, and that’s only because it’s too difficult to cover that stuff without eventually and demonstratively drawing a line in the sand. If I did that I’d be staking a claim on one side rather than the other, which would alienate some readers. Because I’m going totally for the entertainment aspect in these posts, it is rare for me to cover a political story, in the Daily Spigot posts. An added plus in excluding the political stuff, is that there’s far more chance of truthful, opinion-free reporting in the poem, if I’m writing about Iggy Azalea balancing a KFC bucket on her butt while twerking, rather than writing about whether a deep state exists or not. The main thing I’m after is the poetry, above all else. And trying to make it as relatable and entertaining to as many varying people as possible.

In the case of the doctor’s story, I did insert my personal opinion in the doctor’s favor, solely because the attendant held, and looked at, the ticket, on which the passenger was identified as a doctor. I’m not a feminist advocate by any means, but putting aside however we feel about the doctor getting so upset over the fact that the attendant saw “Dr. Siobhan O’Dwyer” on the ticket, but didn’t address her that way, the attendant did seem to intentionally overlook that the professional way would be to address someone with a “Dr.” before their name, as doctor. But what really put it over the line for the doctor, I believe, was that she was called Miss. I’m old enough to remember when women liked to be called Miss, and even demanded it, in some cases. But since the Ms. designation replaced both Miss and Mrs., a woman that is addressed as Miss, these days, is likely to do something dangerous; that’s how infuriated many women get from being called Miss. This made me wonder how the women on social media could be so brutal to her, when it would seem that they’d more likely be on her side for having to have suffered the gall of being called Miss. That’s why I kind of took her side. She’s being eaten by her own, which to me, is kind of wacky. However, I should probably exclude stories like this as well, as potential divisiveness is found in stories like this, too. Thanks for pointing that out to me! I really don’t want to ever put out something that’s abhorrent to a reader, so I appreciate the feedback.

The “grease proof controller” was the only story I found today that I could use to try and inject a bit of humor into today’s otherwise mostly unfunny content. I thought of the South Park episode I mentioned, as soon as I read the story. I mostly depend on the royals, the Kardashians or some other celebrity or celebrity-type, (Pregnant Pippa Middleton for example), for humor, but there seems to have been a drop off on the reporting of them lately.

So, I’d just say that there’s more chance of my writing on a more controversial issue that could be divisive, or unfunny on the weekends, or on those rare weekdays when, outside of politics, the other news categories are really lean, and I have to use the stories because there’s nothing that I can find that’s better that day. I have to do the writing within a certain amount of time. I only have that much time available to find and read the stories, write the poems, and hit pixabay for a relevant image related to the headline, which I can’t do beforehand, as I sometimes don’t choose the headlined story until all four poems have been written. It all works out fine, but when I have to spend more time searching for a good story, it can really eat up the time I have for the other things.

Cheers and thanks again for your feedback and support!

as I recognize it as a reverent time to show respect.

That is why you have the readers to give their opinions and ignore silly things like peoples feelings :) It is best you stick to the facts and if the facts are humorous which mostly I find they are then that is a bonus for your report.

Nice break down of your workflow, it is similar to what we do with the curation posts, mostly because I am always late to doing anything I ought to be doing haha.

As for the doctor lady, whether she deserves it or not does not matter to me, whether the girl addressing her was being a snippy little Miss also does not concern me, because the moment she said Miss the lady had the ball in her court and completely ignoring any social issues I would say shut up take your seat, think on it if it still bothers you then instead of being reactive figure out how to promote it proactively.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by penderis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations, you have been featured in this week's Finder Frog Focus: Poetry Recap Post Our Recap of this weeks topic first published here.

Keep creating! We're looking forward to your next post.
If you don't appreciate this comment, reply to your post and tag @BuddyUp so we can remove it. If you want to know more about the BuddyUp community on Discord you can read about us in Safe Link Post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39