SOCIETY

in #poetry6 years ago

SOCIETY


image
Source

Hey guys so today I wanted to talk about something that I feel is a big deal today, and that's societal standards. We've all experienced it, that annoying situation when everyone just feels like you should have achieved this at a particular age or you should act a certain way. It poisons peoples minds and makes them feel less about themselves. Personally I believe that the only standards that anybody should live by are the ones that they set themselves because if you live by that of others, you'll never truly be happy.

Society can never be satisfied, no matter how hard you try there'll always be someone out there who will feel you aren't trying hard enough or aren't doing enough. We all have to decide for ourselves what we want out of life and let the words of the society not get in our way.

Don't let what society says determine who or what you become, you're your own master, and no man controls your future or your destiny. If you fail then dust it off and keep trying, and if you succeed, be your own encouragement because the same people that'll congratulate you today will be the same people that'll castigate you tomorrow. Be your own hero, be your own motivation and set your own standards.

So that's it guys, please read and enjoy the short poem I wrote.

SOCIETY!!
Your words can't move me
You slander my name and call me dirty
But I've risen above you and I'm still rising
I've hit the skies and you're just hitting the ceiling

SOCIETY!!
My feelings are stronger than bricks
I'm bullet proof and your shots don't stick
Your words don't hurt me anymore
They leave no wounds like they did before

SOCIETY!!
I'm stronger than your opinion of me
I'm becoming who I choose to be
Your words can't dictate my future
You've riddled my mind with wounds that I've sutured

SOCIETY!!
Do not tell me I'm inadequate
My capabilities are something you can't equivocate
Hold me down, I double dare you
This time you'll fail and I'll shine through

SOCIETY!!
I'm taking control of my dreams and sanity
I'm proud of myself now and its not vanity
I'm breaking free from your bondage
Success is my language and you can't translate

SOCIETY!!
My words are what matter now
Yours are insignificant
I'll make it no matter how
Then crush your words like a tiny ant


That's it for today guys, so if you liked it then please

Upvote
Comment
Resteem


This is coming to you from @stach's very own @francistagbo

Sort:  

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

This is real good....

This is real good.

Wow,this is real good....
You can't luve your life trying to impress someone,just be the real you...I concur.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34