BRITTLE

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

images.jpg

My father's voice is a dark hole.

when I was six, I fell into it,
tasted his liquid darkness
and I became a light
too bright for the prying
eyes of dawn.

In my sojourn, I have climbed
seven mountains of tears
and crossed ten rivers of pain;
but for the map on mother's palm

I would have been long lost
in this forest of uncertainties.

So each night when my mother clasps
her palms to allow the meandering lines
rub against one another,
she is telling an angel to carve out another footpath for me,
one that leads to many places.

mine is a brittle story, and on days like this,
it breaks into pieces and scatters around
like the lines in this poem-some white, some black but all coated with raw madness.

Ogwiji Ehi
#EBO

Sort:  

nice post

Thank you

Congratulations @foniz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You got a 90.89% upvote from @flymehigh courtesy of @blocktrades!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62946.22
ETH 3453.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50