My Childhood Writing - #10 - Squirrels

in #poetry6 years ago

I have dug into my old files and have excavated my old childhood writings out of the antiquated file format they were saved in. I am copying them into new formats and decided that I should go ahead and put these out into the world. The "poems" and stories were all written 26 years ago when I was about 12 years old in 1992 and very few of them were shown to anyone outside my family. Now that I am reading through them I am cringing, A LOT! I started to edit the wording but decided I'm better off leaving the writing as is since this was how I wrote at that time.


big ball squirrel.jpg

Growing up in the mountains and forests of California meant that we had an endless parade of tree and ground squirrels everywhere. With the oak trees growing in large numbers came untold numbers of acorns that go to feed the squirrels. I remember a few times as a child where I would be in the attic of the house or the garage and would come upon a HUGE pile of acorns. The squirrels would find an opening then they would just keep stuffing more and more acorns through the hole. At one point I pulled out an entire 5 gallon bucket of acorns.

Those experiences mixed with the acorn rain that would happen when walking beneath the oak trees led me to writing this poem.


Squirrels


Squirrels take the pine cones
and eat their seeds
they leave the core
for all to see
underneath the beautiful pine tree

They chitter and chatter
at everything they see
if they don't like what you're doing
you will know instantly

The acorns you see
are always falling in a breeze
when there is no wind a squirrel will be pleased

They love to eat
and are usually stuffed
they drop the shells
because they are to ruff

They do not chew
they only drop the shells
which they hate
because they do not taste like much

The shells they drop
from a height so great
to be that high would
really be great

Many times it misses
but sometimes it won't
they hit you on the head
and give you a nice big lump

The acorn you find
all broken and shattered
you see no squirrel
but you do hear the chatter


BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!


FFF Runic.png


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46