Addie's Literatry Entry: Purple Notebook 10-1 and 10-3 Hurdles and Fall

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Purple Notebook 10/1 and 10/3 Hurdles and Fall

10/1 (from 2001) might not be the most epic-ly interesting in itself, but it is one of the early mentions of a recurring theme of hurdles I mention a lot in the notebook. I loved hurdles, and still do, but don’t get a chance to do them anymore. Maybe I’ll make some out of PVC or something?

So here they are:

10/1
“Teams do not go physically flat, they go mentally stale.”
That is so true. Before I can run a cross country meet and feel good about <<’running’ crossed out>> my run afterward, I have to mentally “pep” myself up. I can’t think that it’s only twenty minutes, or it’s not going to suck forever.
I have to think this will be fun, I can get out there and pass somebody, this is my big chance, I want to run. If I don’t plan on doing well, I will feel bad while I’m running and won’t run as fast. If I don’t run as fast, I’ll always tell myself I should have gone faster.
I almost went to state for the 100 meter hurdles last year but I missed it in the final heat. I gave up and I don’t know why. I wanted to but I didn’t think I would so I couldn’t get myself to go faster. Next time I’m going to do it. My mind is SET and I’m going to do it.
<<SET was underlined but it won’t work as underlined here>>

Purple Folder 10-3.JPG

10/3 Hollands poetry etc.
Holland’s poem was about fall. It was o.k. It didn’t rhyme but it was better than most poems that don’t rhyme and some that do. He had some nice descriptions but I don’t understand why he seemed to be sad it was fall. Cool stuff happens in the fall, like trees turning color, school starts, and winter is on its way! Hurry! <<current note, I’m pretty sure I was writing fast enough I forgot the a in hurray>>
Things may not be as fast-paced in winter as they are in summer but slowing down can be good sometimes.
People need to give their sunburn a chance to heal (but they’ll probably go to a tanning bed). Winter gives you a chance to appreciate summer. Would you know how nice it is not to have to wear three layers of clothing if you never have to? Winter and summer are good, as well as spring and fall.

Purple Folder 10-3.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80