You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Solarium (free verse) - Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge - Day 82, Poem 73

in #poetry6 years ago

I like to read poetry first to find the message for me, interpreted through my own experiences and mindset. But then I read to possibly get a glimpse into the world of the poet, to find their intention and message to the world.

That’s not always easy and it takes time. That’s one of the reasons I enjoy this challenge. It gives us the opportunity to read multiple poems from the same artist and get to know them better. I appreciate the fact that you always add a comment or two after your poems to kind of highlight your intentions.

I really like the structure and flow of this poem. All the words set apart by having their own line and paired in separate stanzas (Vacillation, Criticism/Suspicion, Corroboration) have a natural progression from doubt to surety.

The imagery of gray skies, clouds, and rain have a negative implication. But the imagery of iridescence rising, fondness, and bursts of color imply something positive.

This duality helps us understand that the progression from doubt to surety can be positive as well. It’s like you pointed out in your comments - you see what you think you see.

The last stanza demonstrates the power of attitude. When we face the world with confidence and a knack for finding the good in everything there is no reason to hide.

I have just one grammar note. The phrase “nothing hide from scrutiny” should read “hides” or maybe “hid”.

Thank you for sharing this poem and insights. The message is powerful and healing and just what I need to hear right now.

Sort:  

I've enjoyed your comment. Thank you so much for choosing "Solarium," @firststeps

Your interpretation makes me more than happy, and I think what you say about analyzing poetry and the opportunities provided by this challenge are 100% true.

About my including a personal comment, it wasn't my idea. I think it's been suggested it for all of us by @d-pend (I'll check).

Finally, it's hard to provide quality feedback when there are so many poems everyday, but it's gratifying.

I really like your work, by the way ♥


About your grammar note, it's funny that as soon as I posted this piece, I saw that error and was about to change it, but then I reread and realized the subject of that verb (hide) is third person plural "my walls, your walls"; "nothing" is actually direct object instead of grammatical subject (if I unscramble the hyperbaton, what I get is this: "...and my walls, your walls, hide nothing from scrutiny.")

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48