Never Made Sense to Me [An Original Poem]

in #poetry7 years ago

"Seven ways to Sunday."
Never made much sense to me.
Time moves one way.

Ever notice Now
is ever Present
and always fleeting?

We collect it
in a thing called Past.

[7-31-2015 © Monique Finley]
Image Source



A Little History

I dislocated my thumb a few months earlier when I'd hooked my thumb on my service dog's leash. I prefer to write poetry on paper. There's something cathartic about the act of writing and I couldn't hold a pen in my right hand. My writing hand.

So, you're damn right! I used the other hand.

Problem is that my left hand's writing capacity at about the 2nd grade level. That left hand's nickname is "craps hands" when it comes to saving the mustard bottle from falling on the floor. As a craps dealer, you're trained to use both hands with equal efficiency, but that's a story for later. Promised @knowledge-trust a Riverboat Dice story, which is coming soon! If you haven't caught his Vegas-based Craps Dealer Chronicles you should check it out.



finleyexp 2.jpg

Twitter: mfinley80
SteemIt Intro: What's Up, STEEMIT?! I'm Monique Finley, a Blogger, Poet, and Author of the Free E-Serial: Terra Damnata!
Serial Novel: Terra Damnata, Book 1 of The Pu'Shing Bhu'Tons Series

Sort:  

Oh shoot! I don't know how I could've missed this! I make it a point to check your profile regularly. I'm so sorry about that. Also, I'm so sorry to hear about your thumb. I hope it doesn't need to have an operation or something similar.

This is amazing! You know how much I enjoy talking about time. Whenever we try to capture the present moment, it always seems to slip from our grasp. I really like how this evokes that sort of temporal feeling. "Seven ways to Sunday" never really made much sense to me either. Great work with this, I really enjoyed this poem very much :D

I really enjoy writing on paper as well. As you said, there's something distinctly special about it that digital means doesn't capture. I have tons of stories written on notebooks, receipts and napkins that I really need to encode though. One splash of water and days worth of ideas would be washed away.

No worries. Posts get lost in the resteems. I wish there was a separate tab for them. Thanks for you concern about my thumb. About 3-4 months after this poem was written, I re-dislocated it which basically slid it back into place. LOL...but not really, because the silly thing ached for another couple months. All is good with it now!

Meditations on time. It really is one of those fascinating things. On the one hand, time is a social construct. Yet, in the other hand, it is a physics variable. I dig talking about it too! I'm glad to know you enjoyed it. I've got some more that deal with time. I'll have to seek them out so we can continue the time conversations.

Right?! Yay, Paper! The water damage you mention is a definite risk. I've lost some work to dogs and cats. I got a little hand scanner for those tons you speak of. Best investment I've made in a long time. I write all I want in the notebooks, etc., then scan it on to an external and to the cloud.

Thanks @jedau

Haha! Dislocations relocating dislocations is always an awesome story :) Yeah, the resteems really need to ba placed in a different tab, but I guess they lose their power somehow since not a lot of people would go check them out. I just realized that now haha!

Oh.. that's funny!
You make a good point about the resteems, I hadn't thought of that aspect. Hmm. I wonder what could be done so that the blog posts aren't lost in the resteems. I mean, aside from strategically resteeming before posting...

Maybe a different colored background? Anything that could separate your own posts other than the resteem icon haha Personally, what I do is I resteem before I post so that my post still sits on top :)

I like that. A different colored background. That wouldn't be too hard, either. :P Groovy! I forget sometimes to do that. I get sucked in. lol

I'll try to suggest it to the devs haha! I hope they send us STEEM if that idea is accepted.

That'd be cool!

great poem - time is a transient treasure and i once wrote a poem about that and am now following you

Thanks for the compliment and the follow! Do you still have a copy of it? And, if so would you want to share it?

it is a Haiku and i will look for it later -- follow my blogs and i will post some original poetry this week

Sounds good to me! Followed after your first comment. lol

Wow! Now that's a poem that really makes you ponder!

Thank you. I hope you'll stop by to ponder time again...some time. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68