I Can’t Sleep (Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

I can’t sleep
Cause I’ve been thinking
I’m on a boat
And that boat, it is sinking
On an inky black sea
Under an inky black sky
There are no stars in that sky
I wonder why
No lights in the sky
No lights on the sea
But I can see it
See it clear
A huge black fin
From a huge black shape
With gleaming sharp white teeth
And his leery red grin
He knows he will get me
If the boat does sink
And I can’t stop the water
From drifting in
Waves of despair wash over me
Oh, why won’t she help me
Why don’t she care
Why does she let him
It’s too much to bear
So I drift in the water
And pretend he’s not there
If it’s too dark to see
Then it must not be happening
It’s all just a dream
But how can I dream
If I’m not sleeping

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29