You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ring

in #poetry6 years ago

Dear @geekorner,
While sipping a strong cup of coffee I was taken on a global journey of the senses through your lines. The Western sun is tough for me to resist, and so I was hooked at the outset. I experienced a minor moment of confusion when I found myself suddenly under the sea, yet that state of pondering provided anticipation (with the support of photographic imagery) for future transitions. This stanza satisfied 2 questions: Will there be a southern excursion? What is the title symbolism?

Your will has taken me,
three-quarters of a circle.
And I turn around.

Congratulations on your poetic accomplishment!

Sort:  

Thank you! And well, the wolf went south-east. Though technically when I turn around I should be facing east, but I'm going to claim poetic freedom here :P

I'm glad you liked it! I added the images to break things up, but some of the early readers did convey a bit of confusion over the sudden transformation at the end of the second segment, before the rebirth as the whale.

As for the title, it has more significance in the piece, but rather than point it out, I'll let you find it on your own. And in case you think you've found it, know it has at least two more points of significance.

Thank you for dropping by, and for the kind words.

Oh yes, I understand there are multiple implications for the Ring with the 3/4 circle being my first aha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40