REGRETS

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Most people dwell in the memories of the past, it gets worse when they let their past encounters becloud their thoughts. I went through a novel today, it didn't end well, quite tragic then I got inspired to write this poem.
man-1519665_1280.jpg

Image source

I breathe deep the fragrance of regret
With thoughts drifting off through my face
Pleading for normal between these four walls
Because I'm sinking, cold, dark, deep and alone
My voice cracks like broken walls falling from its root
Under the cave of moonlight haunted by the dark

I lay in the rage of your heart
Against the pale white layer of the night dew
Words fall freely from the mouth of darkness
And I'm spinning, smiling but the dark keeps crashing in
In the hollow, I catch a shadow of your face
Hitting me, beating me, helping me drown

I grind your memories into a soft powder
Inhale you and lick you off my finger
Because your face brings me death everyday
By the terror exposed through your bare eyes
You're the wave that haunts me in my dreams
Pulling me, grinding me, burying me now

I bare my heart on a book darkened with memories
Wandering like lost fragrance in search of home
In my mind is a fiery furnace
Burning, choking, peeling me off
The earth throws a frown at the sight of dusk
Still I lay here and breathe deep the fragrance of regret

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by estherikott from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.10 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

It's not always about dwelling... it's hard to forget, it is normal to remember the lesdons. Our brains simply need time and time means nothing to our brain. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah, it's hard to forget but we can push the thoughts aside and move on

That is a great post. I remember yesterday i was so down that i couldn't even eat all because i remembered something in the past that i wish it never happened. I then read post on facebook that says we should leave what happened in the past there and focus on the present. After that i came back to myself. And today too i have a wonderful post from you. It always good to click on post like this. Thanks for sharing.

I'm honoured to have you read it
Sometimes, memories of bad things that happened in the past shouldn't just be recollected to avoid putting us in a terrible state emotionally
I'm glad you got over it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34