☀️ Birthday Reflections :: Before Peyote 🌵

in #poetry7 years ago


Today began my 47th trip around the sun.

Solar laps a friend called 'em.

Lotta laps. Lotta lessons. Lotta days.

About 16,790. And I make peace with each one.

I make peace with the men I loved, but didn't marry.

I make peace with the children I sometimes imagined, but didn't have.

I make peace with the careers I did well in, but didn't stick with.

I make peace with the house I adored, but didn't return to.

I make peace with the life I walked away from, but do miss.

I start this lap, making peace.

I am married to a mission, which is to promote
freedom from FAST: Fear, Authority, Shame, and Taboo.

My heart is built to care for more than a household.

My babies are the words that I nurture, before sharing with you.

My career has been rewilded, as has the rest of me.

My ideas of 'home' -- addresses, state lines, national borders --
they dissolved into the soft structures they really are.

My life opens and reaches for warm, golden light.
My strength. My sight.

I saw the sun shining, wishing me happy birthday.

Sort:  

"Happy Birthday to you, one year nearer to the grave!"
as Swami Vishnudevananda used to congratulate.
Though it might sound cruel and heartless, I take it as a great reminder that time is our greatest gifts. Judging from this post and other posts by you I read, from your videos and your other activities you seem to make good use of your time and for this I congratulate you.

I was once an end-of-life chaplain. Working so closely with death absolutely taught me "that time is our greatest gift." Thank you, @likedeeler, for your kind observations and witness. 💜

May this lap be filled with beauty and wonder Erika! Bright Blessings.

Many thanks, @denmarkguy! :-)

@erikaharris i can't understand the Language but Amazing Happy Birthday !

You are my inspiration on Steemit. I am following you.

That is so sweet. Thank you very much, @irfanullah. 💜

That there may be many more years ahead ^.^

Many thanks, @droucil! :-)

What a beautiful journey you are on! Happy birthday! 💕🌀🎉🎂🎉🌀💕

Love the music!
The vocals are very fun and expertly sung, very complex harmonies and intervals. World Fusion is a loose category.

Reminds me of Mouth Music, from Scotland: Hey Mandu

@surfyogi, my apartment was FILLED with Mouth Music the entire afternoon, after you introduced me to them. They are my new fave music. Thank you so much! 🎵💜

Happy Birthday @erikaharris
Steemit customized cake would have been so awesome to celebrate your 47 years on Earth.
Do you know you can get 12% of your bitcoin investment daily for 12 working days. Who gives this ? LASER!!!
Join via this link : https://laser.online/?referrer=Skofyld07

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.52
ETH 2532.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52