True Freedom (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

True freedom to me
is a quiet moment
to visit with my thoughts,
to sit on a park bench,
slide off my shoes, and
listen to the soothing
voice of my muse.

The leaves of grass are so
cool between my toes as I
inhale the bright blessed day,
exhale the dark sacred night,
and I write these lines,
transfixed, this moment is sublime
now, everything is fine.

Life is but a long pause
before the great dreamless sleep
I hope no one dare weep for me
because in my days I’ve tasted this...
true freedom.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Very beautifully written, like all your poems. I especially love the grass between the toes. Whenever I see a well kept lawn, that is all I think of, is how it would feel to my bare feet. Same with beach sand, I love the soft feeling caressing my feet. I can't wait for your book to arrive this week too. With enough practice, I hope to write beautiful poems. They are starting to flow from my thoughts and hope to start posting more of them :-)

Thank you very much! I was walking our beagle, Amstel, last night when this poem came to me. I jotted it down immediately on my phone. The secret to poetry is to write from the heart and not the head -- this way the reader feels the words.

Hmm, good idea with the phone as a place to write them down, since most come in the blink of an eye. I have come up with poems that were very much from the heart. Those are the ones that I wish I had written down. Am sure when it's the right time, they will begin to flow :-)

I use the notes feature of the iPhone and then transfer to Google Docs once they're more polished. It works great. Best of luck to you in your writing!

Lovely poem sir.... True freedom is exactly what you described in the poem.... I am always inspired with your poems and waiting for your posts to hit my feed... Glad to a your follower :)

I'm so glad you're enjoying my work. Thanks!

Is the soothing voice of your muse, that of the beagle Amstel?

LOL

This caught my eye, it goes great with my hammock post today. That area in that gif there is perfect hammock time area man!

No, that voice sounds like a loud hound. : ) I enjoyed the hammock post, Barry! Our old house had hooks set into the support beams upstairs for a hammock but we never tried them. I like to camp though and will consider a hammock over a tent the next time I'm out there. The North Shore of Lake Superior is beautiful country for camping.

Watching the BTC livestream now still in hour 1.

I have been VERY close to setting up HammockLife full time in my BR, and still might.

Once people try a PROPERLY set up hammock in terms of angle usually about 30 degrees. right length of straps (longer is better to flatten it out) - and right type of hammock for long term laying (more than 3-4 hours -- parachute fabric, etc) -- people do not often go back to a bed or tent for sure.

I was converted and will never go back!!

I love it. I'm new here and glad that I found your blog. I write too. Care to have a look? @galaxyandbeyond

Thanks and welcome to Steemit!

You always have a flow to your words that are so soothing and calm. It's like a cool breeze that lifts your essence up to a serene level of awareness. I love how you take in all that is around you for the moment to reflect on life's experiences. Your feet touch the grass to keep you grounded and connected. Beautiful poem.......beautiful words. Thank-you!

Thanks, my friend. When these poems come to me a feeling of peace washes over me and my senses get heightened. It strikes me at the simplest of times. I appreciate your kind words!

I love this

Thank you, man!

We all have our own definition of freedom... I like how you try to describe yours in such a soothing poem. Thanks for sharing! :)

So true! Freedom comes in an infinite amount of flavors. I'm glad you enjoyed my work. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment!

You're very much welcome! :)

What a beautiful poem.
It is most of the time the little things in life that have the biggest impacts on us and this is usually seen when we feel free and serene with no worry in the world.

Thanks! These moments are such a Godsend. They put things right back into perspective for me. I've been so busy lately that a simple moment on a park bench sounded like pure freedom and, as it turned out, it was!

Nice poetry! Good one!

Thank you much, man!

really beautiful poem capturing the absolute essential of life - enjoying the simple moments!

Simple moments are where the joy resides. : ) Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54