The Great Hush (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

The great hush
descended,
a certain solitude
that allowed me
to dream of
what my life
might be

It was a grand
dream, but
a cruel one,
that whisked me
from all that
I ever knew
only to deliver me
to the doorstep
of everything
I ever wanted

It severed me
at my roots
so new shoots
could spring forth
and stretch for
the welcomed warmth
of the sun

Here I am,
never feeling
so sure
about anything,
having given
until weariness
nearly emptied me...
only now,
am I ready
to receive.

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


A little about this poem: It’s safe to say that the past few days have been turbulent and stressful for us all. During turbulent times such as this I've learned, through the wisdom of forty-five years on this planet, to withhold judgement until the dust settles.

I have faith in the future of Steemit community. Steemit is stronger than any one person and more profound than any "experiments" than users can conjure. I still believe the future is bright for those with the courage to stay the course amidst chaos and confusion.

Now is the time for courage, patience, honesty, communication, and most of all engagement. Now is the time to become an active participant in making this great experiment called Steemit even better.

Good night all.


"Courage is rightly esteemed the first of human qualities... because it is the quality which guarantees all others.” - Winston Churchill


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

Steemit

Twitter

Facebook

Sort:  

Wise words my friend. Thanks for sharing this! Steem on!

You are welcome, @voronoi! I appreciate your comment!

beautiful! I have to admit that I didn't think about the words having anything to do with steemit itself until reading your explanation. The poem evokes existential feelings, pictures, experiences that are existential and simultaneously universal. Nice one

Thank you, Ruth! At first I was going to spare the explanation but just do an acrostic poem, spelling out "steemit" in random italicized letters throughout. The italicized letters are too easy to miss though, they're actually in the poem now.

Although it is a few words. But make me beautiful. The views of the feelings of words

you are welcome

Thanks for your insights!

So good i read it several times. For me personally, it made me think about faith.

Thank you @opheliafu! You're right, faith is a huge component of it! Hope you're having a good week. Did you have a chance to spend time with Johanna?

This one needs a "love" button :-)

Thanks, I had to get my thoughts/feelings out there!

good job :-)

Steemit STRONG!

That slogan would be great on a t-shirt.

Very nice poem and thanks for the positivity it gave me. I have faith in the Steemit community as well and interaction is more important now than ever. (not only because it's fun but also to succeed on here).

On a side note. I saw photos of your trip. It looked like great fun. I hope you had a nice time and feel refreshed.

Thank you @exyle. I couldn't agree more. It's up to those who really care to help shape the future. The trip was so wonderful. The "five year plan" is to publish my meditation book and then start a meditation retreat there on St. Thomas. I'l accept Steem as payment (of course.) Hope you're well, man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74