Pilgrim’s Nirvana (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Each day I return
to that tender
tent of shelter
to read,
by the golden glow
of the authentic
core of the soul,
the tattered
pages of my life

I want to read
that each day
I was somehow
a different person
than the day before--
more patient,
loving, and wise,
with the strength to
cradle and console
the wounded
child within

Although many ships
have sailed without me
still I walk this Earth
with a wish to feel
the eternal thrill
of a pilgrim’s nirvana
born of whimsically
sacred places
and foreign faces,

As the lessons
of this wondrous Universe
each day dance
across our consciousness
unfolding however
the hell they please.

*Gif sourced from Giphy.com


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and Steemit enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my poetry, autographed copies of my handmade poetry chapbooks, Emancipation, and The Greatest of Secrets are for sale now on Peerhub for a limited time.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

Steemit

Twitter

Facebook

Sort:  

In the ocean of consciousness, maybe your boat floating from one island to the another and yet to another is build of ice, such as the islands themselves, slowly melting under the sun of love? ;) Namaste :)

A very poetic comment! Thank you, Namaste!

Now that is a poem worthy of recitation, your muse loves you :)

☺️ Thank you, @dreemit! This one hit me fast furious like a lightning bolt.

Lovely poem Eric. Bliss indeed.

Thank you, you always find the hidden message. ; )

His toes ponder the water
Dug deep in the sand
like the bill of an anchor.

Great poem! Thanks for sharing this post with us !

Thank you! I appreciate you reading it!

Your welcome I love poems! :) And this one was great!

"however the hell they please" -- Damn straight, you got right!

It takes a long time to get comfortable knowing you're not in control!

You're tellin' me... :))

Amen! I think this design is my next tat, btw.

Very cool -- It reminds of one of those amazing mandala's @natureofbeing makes...

The first 2 stanzas are incredibly beautiful! The rest as well, but there is a magic for me in these lines. Beautiful writing!
"Each day I return
to that tender
tent of shelter
to read,
by the golden glow
of the authentic
core of the soul,
the tattered
pages of my life"

Thank you, Ruth! I'm working on my novel again. It seems like working on fiction totally opens up the creative channel and out comes poetry! 😊 I'm glad you enjoyed it!

The last sentence hits the nail on the head. The wondrous universe will do whatever the wondrous universe want to do!
This is a nice poem to end my day on, thank you.

You're welcome! The acceptance of this fact makes life so much less stressful. Thanks for reading, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42