Perennial (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

These days,
they are fragile and bittersweet.
Soon they will be formless,
only a memory.

There I will sit,
silver-haired and frail,
studying the shapes
of the clouds as they drift
past my smudged window,

trying, as best I can,
to remember exactly
how it felt to be
on top of the world.

I will smile
as I realize the universe,
it makes no mistakes.

Encapsulated in every moment
is the perfect lesson,
in the perfect season.

Life is a book that begs
to be read.
What better reason
to turn its pages?

We ARE perennial.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Wonderful poem, we gotta strike while the iron is hot my brother!

Thank you, Doug! Yes we do (and we will)! What an amazing brainstorming session we had last night.

Dear @ericvancewalton,
I nominated you in my latest article TOP 5 trending Poetry Accounts you should follow today!
Guess who is the winner my dear friend,
Feel free to check it out:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@bestmemes/top-5-trending-poetry-accounts-you-should-follow-today

Your poems are really nice @ericvancewalton.
The paperback version of your book can also be shipped to italy?
Keeo it up like that!!

Love you’re choice of words.

Thank you my friend!

It's really great and inspirational poetry @ericvancewalton.
You have expressed your ideas in a literal sense. You are the most talented poet.
You have blessed with the requisite creativity and ability.
I really like your poetry and appreciate your creativity.
Thanks for sharing this wonderful poetry and feelings with us.

Beautiful poem, I especially like the line"Life is a book that begs
to be read."

Fantastic work, here. You shift perspective rather well and the reader is certainly drawn in. That whole top of the world thing got me thinking. The world is a globe and there is no top really ... well Everest but the air is rather thin up there. LOL. It's all about perspective, isn't. Something most of us don't achieve until time has passed. Again, fantastic write.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I glady accept. Thanks!

Beautiful poems, this theme of life and time in creative work always sincerely excites people's souls! Thank you @ericvancewalton

Thanks, I appreciate your comment!

You are maestro for poetry

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks!

Superb creativity sir. You've amazing skill for poem writing.
Waiting more through @hardfork-series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52