Impromptu Haiku Vol. 7 (Reader Participation Encouraged)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the seventh installment of Impromptu Haiku.

As a writer, no matter what genre you specialize in, the act of writing haiku is a highly effective way to keep your skill-set sharp. Creating haiku regularly totally crushes the effects of writer’s block by opening up new channels of creativity.



Incase you've never heard the term haiku or have been out of school for a very long time (like I have) and the memories are hazy...the definition of Haiku is as follows:

Haiku is a very short form of Japanese poetry. Traditional haiku consist of 17 total syllables, in three lines of 5, 7, and 5 syllables respectively.

This post is meant be highly interactive. I encourage you to write your own haiku in the comments below (first line should be 5 syllables, second line 7 syllables, third line 5 syllables)

Here’s mine:

Free me from the grind,

words are wings that let me fly

now I know freedom.

Now try yours in the comments below!

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


One participant will be chosen at random to receive a free autographed copy of my book on writing, One Word At A Time, Finding Your Way as an Indie Author. Included in this book are over twenty years of lessons I’ve learned as a writer.


I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and Steemit enthusiast.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

Steemit

Twitter

Facebook

Sort:  

The year of lost hope
behind us, as present dawn
tomorrow we live

Life is in your hands
The wind and the waves obey
I smile at your gaze

Bonjour,
Je me nomme Mme leonie Duchet, je vis en France. En bref, je fais don de mes biens à une personne honnête et dans le besoin. Je souffre d'une grave maladie qui me condamne à une mort certaine, c'est le cancer de gorge, et je dispose d'une somme de 60.000 euros, dont je voudrais faire une donation à une personne de confiance et d'honnête afin qu'il en fasse bon usage. Je suis propriétaire d'une entreprise d'importation d'huile rouge au France, Finlande, Belgique, Italie, Suisse, et j'ai perdu mon épouse il y a de cela 6 ans, ce qui m'a beaucoup affecté et je n'ai pu me remarier jusqu'à ce jour, nous n'avions pas d'enfants. Je voudrais faire de cette somme un don avant ma mort puisse que mes jours sont compté faute de cette maladie à laquelle je n'ai eu de remède mais un calmant en Belgique je voudrais par la suite savoir si vous pouvez bénéficier de ce don ?
Je vous prie de me répondre sur ce mail : [email protected]

Bonjour,
Je me nomme Mme leonie Duchet, je vis en France. En bref, je fais don de mes biens à une personne honnête et dans le besoin. Je souffre d'une grave maladie qui me condamne à une mort certaine, c'est le cancer de gorge, et je dispose d'une somme de 60.000 euros, dont je voudrais faire une donation à une personne de confiance et d'honnête afin qu'il en fasse bon usage. Je suis propriétaire d'une entreprise d'importation d'huile rouge au France, Finlande, Belgique, Italie, Suisse, et j'ai perdu mon épouse il y a de cela 6 ans, ce qui m'a beaucoup affecté et je n'ai pu me remarier jusqu'à ce jour, nous n'avions pas d'enfants. Je voudrais faire de cette somme un don avant ma mort puisse que mes jours sont compté faute de cette maladie à laquelle je n'ai eu de remède mais un calmant en Belgique je voudrais par la suite savoir si vous pouvez bénéficier de ce don ?
Je vous prie de me répondre sur ce mail : [email protected]

so tired am I
just may fall upon the desk
eyes shut fast asleep

Four words more than one
Six words are more than seven
Math don't always work

Snowflakes-freezing rain
Venus peeking throug the clouds
is sky a limit

She tells great stories;
I want to hear all of them!
"You talk, I listen."

Bonjour,
Je me nomme Mme leonie Duchet, je vis en France. En bref, je fais don de mes biens à une personne honnête et dans le besoin. Je souffre d'une grave maladie qui me condamne à une mort certaine, c'est le cancer de gorge, et je dispose d'une somme de 60.000 euros, dont je voudrais faire une donation à une personne de confiance et d'honnête afin qu'il en fasse bon usage. Je suis propriétaire d'une entreprise d'importation d'huile rouge au France, Finlande, Belgique, Italie, Suisse, et j'ai perdu mon épouse il y a de cela 6 ans, ce qui m'a beaucoup affecté et je n'ai pu me remarier jusqu'à ce jour, nous n'avions pas d'enfants. Je voudrais faire de cette somme un don avant ma mort puisse que mes jours sont compté faute de cette maladie à laquelle je n'ai eu de remède mais un calmant en Belgique je voudrais par la suite savoir si vous pouvez bénéficier de ce don ?
Je vous prie de me répondre sur ce mail : [email protected]

what sweetens sours
in my hand your two cents
I have no more change

Eric Vance Walton
with another haiku post:
poets rush to write

In the triangle,
Space time and worries are gone,
We fly up and away

Great one, @rubnalexander! You win the book this time! Please email me at [email protected] with your shipping address to claim your prize. Thanks for participating!

Woohoo! 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33