Holy (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

There are times
I feel there is
no solid ground
beneath my feet,
it is then I must
travel to my teacher

There is no
perfect time,
muse will speak
only when it wishes,
then each of your
demons will weep
because they’ll know
they’ve lost the war

I stand here humbled
on the shore,
with all ten toes
buried, cool,
beneath the sand
and with outstretched hands,
let the moody and mysterious
sea wash over me,
teaching the true
meaning of peace

It will talk, you only need to listen,
but that is the hardest thing,
to listen, to discern nuances,
then to stand right there,
in shame and reverence
in the middle of a world
we failed to recognize as holy.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

Did you catch the last post from our @hardfork-series account? If so, click here to read it! As always, thank you for your support!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Beautiful poem . If only more of us could make that connection and free ourselves . Thank you. 🐓🐓

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed it.

Missed this one, glad I found it, nicely done.

Exodus 3:5 "Do not come any closer," God said. "Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy ground."

Thank you, man! That quote pretty much sums it up. They are saying now that it's good for our health to walk barefoot and make direct contact with the Earth.

Nice stego :-)

You found the message?!

Great message <3

Love this Eric! It realy is holy when we're actually paying attention.

Thank you, Doug! I totally agree, this universe speaks to us in intelligent and amazing ways if we are paying attention. I tried the acrostic technique here too. : )

Enjoyed your poem. Upvoted and Followed.

The first thought that came to me after reading your poem was that my father always use to tell me that the sea was healing. Being in Hawaii, he said he use to run to the beach where he could find peace and solace. He always wanted to be near water. I am like him because I do find the same comfort from the sea. Its waves remind me that we need to go with the flow and find strength in its healing power of clarity. Thank-you for such a thought provoking poem.
Wishing you the very best! :D

That is so great that he viewed the sea that way, he was totally right. Whenever I need to rebalance or reset my consciousness I immerse myself in nature. I wish I lived by the sea but we're in the upper Midwest, so oftentimes, I take a hike in the woods. Communing with nature never fails to work. I'm glad you enjoyed this @cabbagepatch. It's always a joy to read your comments, you put such thought into each one. I appreciate that!

To listen to the holy spirit innit. Or whatever spirit you take as the representative of the divine. The search for spiritual meaning. Interesting read.

Nice poem :)

Nice one. You got a follow

Thanks, I appreciate the support!

You are most welcome

I love the poem! Great post! Followed you!

I really appreciate you taking the time to read it! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80