Bon Voyage (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Stillness is our soul's
natural state
but in this life
we must move
to quench the desires
that reside in a place
far too deep
to understand.

We long to
give breath
to our dreams,
to meander
down those
little allies and
twisted streets,
in awe of people,
places, and things
in which we've never
closed our hands upon.

One day
we will grow weary
and daydreaming
through these
memories will be
our last freedom,
so for now let the
wind sweep us away,
let’s see this world
through the eyes of
a million strangers,
so I can understand you
in every facet and
myself in every way
-- Bon Voyage.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Sort:  

This is so great! It's true that we need to enjoy the life that we have now before we're looking back at the life we could have had. Make the most of every moment and live life to the fullest :)

Thank you! It's a difficult thing to do to try to stay in the now all the time, even after 23 of meditation.

Your thought provoking poem made me smile. Like your book the Perfect Pause, we need to occasionally quiet our minds to find inner peace but at the same time, in order to grow and learn new perspectives, we must take flight to experience other places, cultures and people. This experience will broaden one's understanding of others thereby bringing greater understanding and awareness of the world we live in. It will also bring the traveler so many memories of an abundant world filled with real life experiences, new sights, exciting interactions and never forgotten moments of awe.

As you said, when time eventually slows down for this person, one will have a wealth of memories to sustain one's life with bliss and contentment. What a journey it will be. This person will return as a more enlightened being, who is more grounded and content. He/she will be wiser and like a sage, will be able to teach others the meaning and value of life.

Wouldn't the world be a better place if everyone traveled in order to experience other people and learn different cultures, spreading more understanding throughout the world? I will be hopeful for a better tomorrow! Thank-you for your poem! Have a great weekend! ....Cabbagepatch

Thanks for your comment! Travel is, by far, the best education I've ever had. It's one thing I never hesitate to spend money on because the dividends it pays are so worth the cost. I hope you had a wonderful weekend too!

Just beautiful. Thank you.

I really appreciate it!

Very nice poem. You have made me like your post

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thank you!

Your welcome @ericvancewalton :) I'll always check your post

This is so beautifully woven into words, I love it so much. Thank you for this.

I appreciate your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to read it!

Good reminder to make good memories now!

Thanks! Yes, there is no time like the present! : )

so true, great that you are capturing them!

:) I loved the other one too about sitting down and feeling the cool grass between your toes. :)

Thank you, Ann! The poetry has really been flowing lately. I'm working on a huge project (that we will be announcing soon on Steemit) and the byproduct of this is not being able to shut the creative part of my brain off. Lol. : )

Your journey of hard work and dedication is really paying off for you, so happy for you! You are encouraging a lot of people with your work!

What a captivating poem.

I really does get you to realise what the world is like.
How we are swept up in this melancholic chorus rushing to do all so many things that in the end acts as a beautiful story book as you near the end of your life.
Every winding street you go down leads to another adventure which you can reminisce and be content with.
Be audacious and keep exploring before your time runs out.

Thanks! Very poetic words, @arckrai!

let the
wind sweep us away,
let’s see this world
through the eyes of
a million strangers,

That section beckons to an adventure. Yet, a stillness resides in the company of a few friends we make amongst those million strangers. What a wonderful thing life is.

Life is incredible once our eyes are opened. 😊

I like the idea that seeing through others eyes is necessary to understanding the self.

I really do feel like others are a kind of mirror that allows us to see ourselves in different perspectives.

Boom I love when my votes add over $4.50 to people I love to support.

  • to me this whole poem right to the end, sounds like the last post you wrote on here...... you are getting ready to travel and learn and grow methinks.

People travel to Canadastan sometimes, they do you know!!!

I always appreciate the support, Barry! Yes, you read into that correctly. There's going to be lots of travel plans in the next 12 months. I'm in Montreal in early Sept, as a matter of fact!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49