Do you remember some of your nursery poems???

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

5181342503_11671a0472_b.jpgSource
When I was in stage 2 at Glorich School in Accra, my English Madam taught the class a beautiful poem titled "Twenty Froggies"
She gave us these words:

Twenty froggies went to school
Down beside the rushy pool
Twenty little coats of green
Twenty vests all white and clean

Master Bullfrog brave and stern
Called the classes in their turn
Thought them how to nobly stride
Likewise how to read and write

From his seat upon the log
Showed them how to say "Ker Chok"
Also how to dodge a blow
From the sticks the bad boys throw

Twenty froggies grew up fast
Bullfrogs they became at last
Not one bounce was in a lot
Not one lesson they forgot
Polished to a high degree,
As each froggy ought to be

Now they sit on other logs
Teaching other little frogs

But i found this version on the internet also:

Twenty froggies went to school
Down beside the rushing pool ;
Twenty coats all pressed and green,
Twenty vests all white and clean.

We must be in time said they,
First we study then we play;
That is how we learn the rules,
As we froggies go to school.

Master bullfrog brave and stern
Taught us each all in our turn;
Taught us how to leap and dive,
Also how to nobly stride.

Taught us how to dodge below
From the sticks which bad boys throw.

Twenty froggies grew up fast,
Big frogs they became at last;
Polished to a high degree,
As each froggy ought to be.

Now they sit on other logs,
Teaching other little frogs.

(Words spoken by Nicky)
by George Cooper
Source

But I must confess that I love reciting my Madam's version

What nursery poem do you remember?
Comment below

You can also join us #dynamicsteemians on our discord channel and meet great writers such as @elsiekjay, @preshey, @dynamicgreentk, @dynamicrypto, just to mention a few.
engineer-one-1.gifThank you @baa.steemit for this great footer

Sort:  

Youre always welcome, hun!

Thank you for using our rythm bot! New footers available!
dynamicgreentk-1.gif

Sure, anytime @dynamicgreentk, i loved the bot too.
Yeah if anyone wants a footer too, you can follow the link in the write-up above to join our discord channel for yours.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I barely remember my nursery rhymes. My sister says I have issues. The one that intrigued me the most was one about a spoon, a dish and a fiddle, if memory serves me right.

Nice poem though. So which is the original piece and which is the altered or they're just different versions?

That's "hey diddle diddle, the cat and the fiddle, the little dog laughed, and the dish run away with the spoon." 😂 Hope I said it right saf

Exactly. You're an angel. How do you still remember that?

Im glad you liked my poem.
I would rather not rush to conclude on which is the correct one because i haven't gathered enough facts to back my claims

Aye... I loved both versions. I think the message is well communicated in both versions

Yeah, i'm glad you loved it

Nice .. hihi.. how come I wasn't taught this one.. ? Do you remember " the crooked man"?

No, never heard that but how about this rhyme 'there was an old woman'?

I do remember a few of my childhood!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28