Farewell to my smile and your sunshine fur.

in #poetry7 years ago

IMG_20180103_082659.jpg

Loss is a person and he stands by my side

Constantly causing pain

Twisting the knife

Just when I think he's gone

He's come back again

To take the ones I love, family and friends

You were my sun with your sunshine fur

Brightening up my day with your soft purr

No matter what, I had you

But loss had to come, and take you too

I miss you still to this day

After two years the pain still won't go away

Now I only see you in my dreams

Where I think you come to tell me things

Like its not my fault that you got sick

To try to go on and find the will to live

IMG_20180103_091343.jpg

I almost lost my mind

When loss came back this time

To steal my longest most precious friend

Leo, the dog on which I could always depend
IMG_20180103_091327.jpg

My little white lion, you protected me well

Living without you is my private hell

16 years you were by my side

Sleeping by my feet every single night

The last and best gift my father gave to me

From a spaz little puppy to a grumpy old man

I tried to give you the best life I can

I hope that one day I'll understand

Why all this suffering is, and why it has to be

And why some day, people will end up missing me

Until that day, farewell to my smile

I don't think you will see it again for a very long while

IMG_20180103_091403.jpg

Sort:  

Very nice, and thank you for sharing. The furry little guys can be so rewarding to our lives :)

I'll always remember how happy they made me. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

you made my eyes wet... my dog passed away in November 2016. She was also 16. I will never forget her. She has left such a void in me.

I found you through the Dead Posts Initiative. Since this is past payout, I will upvote your comment there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44