TODAY IS NATIONAL FLUFFERNUTTER DAY

in #poetry6 years ago

Every day provides us with an opportunity to celebrate. Today is a foodie holiday, its National Fluffernutter Day! I know many of you are thinking what is a Fluffernutter. A Fluffernutter is a sandwich, common in the New England area. It is a childhood favorite of mine. The classic Fluffernutter is on white bread. Peanut butter is smeared on one piece of bread and Marshmallow Fluff on the other. And smash the two pieces together for this gooey, sweet delight!

FLUFFERNUTTER

What’s a Fluffernutter?
A sandwich with peanut butter

and Marshmallow Fluff.
As a kid I never got enough.

It must be on white bread
if to me it’s being fed.

It was a common school lunch
which many kids did munch.

Fluffernutters in school
for lunch it ruled!

Fluffernutter was a lunchbox staple
a Massachusetts senator was playful

wanting it to be the state sandwich
but, unfortunately the bill languished.

Today for lunch I made this gooey treat
please be warned, eating it isn’t always neat!

<center

Fluffernutter commercial

Here is a Fluffernutter commercial, with the Fluffernutter jingle that generations of New Englanders will recognize.

Video source

The Great Fluffernutter Debate: Hunting for Massachusetts' State Sandwich - Zagat Docs., Ep. 7

Marshmallow Fluff was created in Massachusetts around 1917. In 1920 the product was commercially produced and sold in stores. At various times in Massachusetts history, legislation has been introduced to make the Fluffernutter the official state sandwich. Sadly, the Fluffernutter bill is never been passed.

Video source

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

I have never tried that. Well, I have never even heard of Fluffernutter. But even if I had, I would not like it because I don't like marshmallows at all.

I love lots and lots of peanut butter on white bread to the point that it drips as I take a bite of my sandwich. Yum!!!!

Marshmellow Fluff is a little different than mashmellows. I know it isn't to evertones liking. But your right about peanut butter being amazing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Same as @evlachsblog, I have never heard of a Fluffernutter and wouldn't like it at all if I had because I don't fancy marshmallows that much.

But I like peanut butter especially if I mix it with either of the following:
- Strawberry jam;
- Butter;
- Bananas; and,
- Orange marmalade.

All these together with a cup of coffee, is a really really great treat for me.

Peanut butter makes everything better!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes. but don't forget butter. Can't saute garlic with peanut butter. Or make a hot plate sizzle with peanut butter. Hope you plan to celebrate Butter Day sometime in the future : )

Sadly, butter doesn't have its own day. But, June is dairy month, I will try to work it in then.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's sad about not having a day of its own. Can we get some New England lawmakers to legislate one? I mean a Dairy Day is fine but Butter is like bacon or hash browns or eggs. Can't live quality life without them : (

Hi @emergehealthier!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.475 which ranks you at #16205 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 16203).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 304 contributions, your post is ranked at #264.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50