If/Then (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

If I fall in love one more goddamn time
If I am not dreaming
If another slow day slips into starlight while I sit still and watch

If one more beautiful creature crosses my path, and allows me to touch it,
If this sweet and gentle thing I’ve found
Is real

If the world is destined to spin into the sun; and the galaxy to collide with
Andromeda,

If we can still live well
amidst all this destruction
Then surely I can lay down and die,
For this is like no life
I’ve ever known.

[Photo credit: NASA]

I'd like to note that I am not, by any stretch of the term, a poet. I can't even really say that I'm a bad poet, because the fact is, with very rare exceptions, I don't write poetry. I don't even read much poetry. But I think there is enough value in our word experiments to publish them sometimes, and I would like to know what you, the readers, think.

If you like my writing, you can find more of it at elysehauser.com.

Sort:  

This is a beautiful poem.
Do you mind verifying that you are indeed Elyse Hauser, perhaps by linking Steemit to your website?

I'd be glad to verify, although I'm not sure I want to publicize this blog on my website just yet. Would something else work, like maybe a Twitter post?

And thank you!

A Twitter post would be great, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48