"Unless" - A Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” ― Edmund Burke

image.png

You should have a gun
(If you want one)
Unless it can end dozens of lives
In the time it takes to blink an eye
You should have a gun
(If you want one)
Unless you’re criminally insane
Or inclined to violence though sane
You should have a gun
(If you want one)
Unless the media can call you a kid
To try to minimise what you did
You should have a gun
(If you want one)
Unless you can’t or won’t keep it
Safe from those listed


Image sourced from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Thank you, for this, @elementm. I’m in Florida & watching coverage of latest highschool shooting with a mounting sense of frustration/ impotence.

Incredulous that it seems sane to talk about arming teachers and more drills at school, instead of banning assault weapons, finally.

When did we decide that our right to bear arms was more important than protecting the lives of our children? Something must be rotten in the Divided States of America that children are learning from adults this sickness of war...

How much longer, as a public, will we continue to defend the indefensible, how many deaths?!

Okay, sorry, rant over 🙏🏼

03747EFC-6FB6-400D-B38D-21941F3B6D07.jpeg

That poem rings very true right now and don't worry, some rants are necessary. I don’t especially like guns. That doesn’t mean I think nobody should have them. I just think it’s common sense that not EVERYBODY should have them. And maybe it would be simpler if the law was that anyone who doesn’t pass certain requirements can still get a gun but it has to be an exact replica of the kind that was available when the 2nd Amendment was written. But my opinion is that of an outsider. I don’t live in America.

Thank you, for your gracious response. My opinion is that of an outsider, too. Even though I live in the US for 12 years, and am even a citizen, I am bewildered by its ways.

Then, again, I feel the same way about my other Home, Egypt, that I fled...

Heaven help us to help ourselves 🙌🏼

PS - Only if you’re interested, here’s a further introduction:
https://www.pbs.org/newshour/arts/poetry/humble-one-liners-can-teach-us-times-live

I’m trying to recover from some of my pessimism because I’ve been bitter about the concept of nationhood for a while. Governments disappoint (regularly) but nations are made of people who can muster the will to help each other and themselves.

On another note, I checked the link, it’s really cool that you’re a full time poet! I’ll be looking out for more of your stuff on Steemit 👏.

Beautifully said, re: nationhood—the distinction between governments & people. I think I’m in the same place as you, and trying to see the goodness past the corruption...

Thanks, for your interest & encouragement. Being a full time poet is not easy, but it’s not a choice, either.

I hope my words continue to keep you good company 🙏🏼

Very great poem, very great post! I love the poems =D

realmente me gusto mucho este poema, es muy interesante, tienes mi voto

Interesante poema amiga, para pensar y reflexionar.. Saludos y Bendiciones para ti.

I do not know how to give you such a nice post, but also try to post something like yours, I follow your friends and vote for them, I always hope for your votes and comments. @salekbd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84