Original Poetry - "Still Strumming"

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I tried to make the music
Death gripped
Open chords
Strummed
Rhythm-less strums
Fours, fours
While my fingers failed
From my mouth
The sounds were
Melody and words
Yet in my hands
The strings would
Clumsily ring
Near misses
So close
To where
I wished they were
Years of trial and error
And error after error
Advice upon advice
And still more errors
Giving up
Coming back
I'm a little nearer
And for what it's worth
Better than ever

image


Thanks for reading! I'm pretty embarrassed about how long I've owned my guitar because I'm still not very good at playing it. Singing sort of came to me and that may have given me the wrong impression of how acquiring music skills works. I'm a work in progress.

If you liked this poem, check my blog (I've got more)! If you're a writer too check out #emojipoetry for a chance to win some SBD.

Steem on!


Image sourced from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Amazing poetry! I'm a singer as well, and share the same story! Singing came naturally so I got the wrong idea of how music skills are aquired! I can't play any instruments at all yet! But I've started the guitar ! Hope we make it. :D

Yeah lol, I always feel like there's some hidden trick to it that nobody's explained yet but I guess it just takes time. You should try #openmic! If any of your poems are actually songs you can get a bonus prize from @pfunk for original music.

Really!! Omg, I'm mainly a songwriter not a poet to be very honest! Thank you so much. I'm so happy to see that this community has a place for everyone.

You're welcome! You can use a backing track, get a friend to accompany you or sing acapella. This post should give you the details: https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-37-winners-see-who-won-open-mic-and-join-us-this-week

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44