Original Poetry - "Get a Job"

in #poetry7 years ago

I’ve got a job!
But it eats my soul
Leaves me
A hole
Where a human
Was
At least
I’VE GOT A JOB!
So I wake at
Set times
Out the door
Join the lines
That’s fine
I’ve got a job
But it didn’t
Require my degree
So the snobs
Look down on me
At what they think they see
I’ve got a job
One step down
From the cubicle
Fuelled by
Pharmaceuticals
But it’s a job
Before none, any
It’s still a job
Better than nothing
At least its a job
Just keep saying it
Until the gratitude
Smothers those sobs
For good


Thanks for reading. This poem is based on actual events but the blockchain is forever so I’m not going to name that employer. What I will say is that the feelings I described led me to call it quits and pursue online work (mostly freelancing) exclusively. I haven’t looked back since.

Upvotes, comments and follows are appreciated. If it really felt familiar, consider resteeming.


Image sourced from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Cool.. Good on u for quitting

Thanks (I really had to)

oh this felt familiar! Glad you got out of there!

Me too! No regrets whatsoever.

Don't do things you don't enjoy doing. It will eat you from inside. I'm glad you quit.

I'm glad too. I haven't completely removed things I don't enjoy from my career yet, but at least nothing that remains makes me feel the way I did then.

Can relate to the poem and good for you!

Thanks! I hope you got out too.

I did my friend, God answers prayer. :-)

Quit! Go live your dream brother!

Thanks (even though I'm a woman)! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43