"Electric Life" - A Poem

in #poetry6 years ago

image.png

The wind chimes ring out
The clock ticks are thunderous
In the silence
Modernity left in its wake
Powerless yet not
We exist
In the calm
We await reconnection
We remember tasks
And chores
Often forgotten
In the rapid motion
Of electric life


There was a scheduled power outage in my neighbourhood today. I suppose it sounds more dramatic as a poem.


Image sourced from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Hello @elementm, it may sound dramatic that tour neighbors lost power, for us in Nigeria, power outage is what we are used to.
Anyway, your poem is nice and clever put together.
I'm following you now and I'll really appreciate it if you follow back.
Cheers

Thanks @kingspiration. Power outages aren't that common where I live (except around Christmas time) but I'm glad I was able to get a poem out of this one.

Hello friend and good poem perfect for today's afternoon, and I hope that the electrical problem is solved soon.

Thanks, it ended up only being a few hours :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80