An untitled original poem

in #poetry7 years ago

Keep working on
Getting over
The fear of
Getting everything
You ever dreamed of
Falling short
Seems more comfortable
Than rising up
There's a strange familiarity
To giving up
Why wonder?
Why worry
About a tomorrow
So bright
You'd shield
Your eyes
When you could choose
To hide
Again and again
In half lived todays
With no foreseeable end
Choking on
The brittle solace of
"It probably
Wouldn't
Have been
That great..."

image


Image sourced from pixabay.com

Sort:  

I'm moved! You've earned some cookies neighbour :D Btw, a loyal reader of my rhyme poetry recommended I check out Shel Silverstein and Ogden Nash. Thought I'd check if you've heard of either

Thanks :D I've never heard of them but I'll check them out. And now I have a title without a poem: "Cookie for your Thoughts"...

Love it!! 😄😄

🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪
🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪
🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪
🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪

Love this. I absolutely relate.....it's so odd how these brains work....especially those of us who have known little outside of trauma and struggle. Thank you for sharing! Feel much less alone at present. ❤️

Thank you! The fear of failure is obvious but we can fear anything that's different, even success. Trust me, you're not alone on this one 🙂

Great poem!! Can any one make tittle for this poem.

Thanks :) Sometimes titles come to me and sometimes I just stare at the screen with no clue what to call what I wrote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52