POET

in #poetry6 years ago

broken-heart-300x150.jpg

Source

It's funny how you suddenly started smiling at me

Those lingering glancies I always wished for had become mine

A well of joy opened up inside me,for I had finally caught your attention

I had finally become worthy of your affections

I should have known it was too good to be real

I should have known the fates would never let me be happy

The signs were all there,I should have seen it coming

Vibrant conversations were replaced by a dull grey

You were no longer eager to see me

My voice was no longer beautiful neither was my face appealing anymore

I wondered what happened,I wondered what I did wrong

You were in love with the poems and not the poet

You fell for my poetry,not me

I stopped writing love letters when you became mine because they were letters I always wrote for you

You left me because I no longer wrote love poems,but how could I continue?

I was Romeo who had finally found his Juliette

I was Edward who had found his Bella after waiting all his life

I was Jack with his own Rose

I was Jesus with his Church

I was Adam with his Eve

How then could I have continued writing romantic letters?

We were the love story I always wanted to write

It's funny how I quickly became Paris who lost his Juliette

Jacob who lost his Bella

and Adam who lost his Eden

At the very least,you taught me to write love letters to myself.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67368.20
ETH 2618.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68