Royalty!!!

in #poetry7 years ago

Credit 

Ah !  Royalty !  do  I  envy  you? 

Do  I  seek  to  dine  from  the  dainty  of  your  table? 

Do  I  long  to  be  dressed  in  purple  linens  and  furs? 

Do  I see  your  majestic  boundaries  extend  from  coast  to  coast? 

Do  you  not  exercise  your  sceptre  over  magnificent  thrones  castles  and  palaces? 

I  know  your  princes  who  reside  in  the  lofty  heights  of  grandeur  and  splendour 

Ah !  Royalty !  For  what  envy  I  you? 

Your  valour  your  might  none  can  dispute 

Your  sword  gleams  in  the  reflection  of  the  sunlight 

Your  costly  parade  queue  as  galaxies  in  a  milky  way 

You  are  encased  in  Rocky fortresses  Impressive !  Formidable!  Impregnable! 

Ah !  Royalty!  What  do  you  speak? 

A  word  to  season  or  a  rebuke  to  injure? 

Is  it  pangs  and  fear  you  bestow? 

Do  you  dash  favours  and  trample  on  the  defenseless? 

A  crown!  What  is  it  for? 

To  cover  your  baldness  or  to  sit  on  the  meek  and  lowly ?

Are  you  not  Lord  to  bear  the  load  of  miseries  and  the  weight  of  the  distressed? 

Is  it  to  sink  underneath  the  love  which  sees  you  as  a  hand  of  rescue? 

Your   veneration  you  don't  deserve 

For  this  reason  I  envy  you  not 

The  fangs  you  grow  to  devour  in  the  fierce  light  of  the  night 

Ruin  will  come  swiftly 

For  the trail  you  set  do  consume 

Like  the  fire  that  burns  in  a  meadow  and  the   rotting  graves  washed  in  the  colours  of  life 

This  I  say  of  royalty !

I  dare  to  be  bold  so  you  are  told 

That  it  is  one  adorned  with  humility 

Committed  to  humanity 

Adored  by  divinity 

Defined  by  dignity 

And  acknowledged  by  posterity 

Only  with  these  do  you  truly  deserve  the  crown  of  royalty 

My  heart  now  rests  

For  though  I  wear  not  a  crown 

The  beauty  of  love  undisputed 

Will  long  reign  in  the  hearts  of  men




Sort:  

Maami on point, Steem on Mama!!

I appreciate you

@edith4angelseu your such a literary gift to the world

Thank you boss. I am blushing! I won't ever rewrite my history with out you.

Nice dear. You will move places

Oh thank you so much

A masterpiece, you are indeed a great poet, hope someday you will be celebrated

Thank you so much. I hope so too

Wow. I am royalty.

No controversy! Thank you for stopping by

Coman dash me this literal talent...😥😥

You no get wahala! Oya come take am

Steem on ma'am

Thank you so much

Your poem is as wonderful as you. I always look forward to reading from you everytime

Thank you so much. Your words are lifting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57