You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemitPoetryContest #6—Ode to My Cane Cutting Grandma

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Wow, wow and Thrice WOW!

This poem, and the accompanying comments to John, have caused me to click the follow button below your name.

Firstly, there is deep alliteration with the 's' sound throughout here - which gives it a whispering quality that, when contrasted with the harsh realities of cane cultivation, only serve to highlight the love that much more.

Several other alliterative moments dimness of dusk, hero's hands, flessless form, really round this poem out as pure pleasure to read, something that calls to be read out loud! I couldn't keep it in - it burst forth from my mouth as if with a life of its own!

I love rhyme, but I appreciate all the advice you gave to John and will be contemplating it as I continue to write poetry, and follow you!

Sort:  

Thanks so much man. Your comments mean so much to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44