To the Hills or the Plains? (An original Ballad)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



lineline.png

Forlornly I walked the freeway,
reflecting on the future, on my plans
When came in a pickup, a bald head,
“Journey with me, son” he offered.


And journey with him, i did,
for miles of no words spoken,
for miles of no questions asked
until at last he asked in passing:

What are your life’s plans?
I don’t know? I said,
I just want to succeed in life.
Such a long destination! He said.

Old man, I said, its complicated,
Oh’ no! He said, It is actually simple!
It is the same with all young people,
You have energy, the world is yours!

Glory you seek, you want to win,
to be the best, the leader!
And he was right.
What else could I possibly want?

That you will be, he said,
but only if you know where to go,
that depended on knowing two things:
First, God’s purpose; second, what I am.

And I knew not.
What are you? He asked:
"a pickup or a lorry?”
And that too, I knew not.

Let me give you some advice son:
Pray, ask to know your life's purpose,
We are all something between,
a small pickup, and a heavy lorry!

Whatever God reveals, he said,
compare not, ask not:
Why am I pickup and not a lorry,
or why am I a lorry, and not a pickup?

If it is revealed you are a pickup,
then go to the plains, he advised,
there aim to be the very best of your lot!
and there you will achieve, there you will win

If you are a Lorry, away to the hills you go,
there aim to be the very best of your lot,
there you will achieve, there you will win,
and there you will fulfill your life's purpose

One last question, he said on journey end,
What are you? Where to now?
'A pickup,' I was honest to say,
Then head to destination ‘Plains’,

On hills, pickups break down, he warned.
On Plains, Lorries crash for over-speeding!
Yet for reasons of envy, of comparisons,
I headed to destination ‘Hills’;

attempt after attempt, I faltered,
Its many years now, my head is also bald,
and pickups and Lorries,
they bring me one thing: regret.

So what do i ask you, young, man?
If not the same question:
“What are you? Where to now?"
Repeat not, i beseech you, my mistake!
lineline.png

Sort:  

prayer and effort are two paths that must go hand in hand, as they complement each other.

True, prayer, i might add though, is at the point of revelation, after which effort is required to proceed. I am glad for your thoughts @bahtiarlangsa

Some nice story here mate! I admire you. And i have resteemed it. Thankyou

Much thanks for your compliments, and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99