ALL THAT GLITTERSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

images (1).jpegALL THAT GLITTERS

There was a girl in my neighborhood whose presence exhales a requisite oxygen ; For in her breath it dwells, the air of existence. With a pleasant aura, a comely structure and a soothing voice, she cleared all my doubts : She was an epitome of beauty.

Then I thought of dating her. Yet, after burning some midnight candles as if it was an exam preparation, I still decided to reach for the best malls in town, just to buy candies, cakes and many other romanceful items for her. But I never had the thought that, I and my candies would get crushed. And I would have to pick up the pieces of the items I once treasured. Hence with her contemptuous attitude, it looked as if my candies were poisonous and my cakes were not edible.
But since I believed that the 'end product' of resilience was success, I picked up my pieces and decided that I will return the drawing board.

On getting home and already soaked in my own sweat, my head aching and my eyes itching - also with a freeze temperature, I couldn't remember the last time I suffered like that. My feeling turned sour and my thoughts became frenzy. Therefore I couldn't help myself but to mutter a few rhetoric, and out of my jumbled state, I broke down into tears.
What a sorry love fever !

Going to bed with an empty stomach, after a long day of 'disarray and humiliation', the night has its own disappointment, but (alack !) I never knew.
And just as I fell in the bed, it would be understandable to have that as my shortest night. I fell so easily asleep, but my soul wouldn't rest in peace. I saw it at the 'dreaming life' as I was sprinting after my 'crush' with some bags of cowries and ivories. But my crush was a 'lamia' in my dream. The same manner at which I was longing for her love, she was equally lusting after my blood.
Although she is my angel on earth. But could she be a vampiress in the spirit world ?

After the longest sleep of my life, 'waking up' was like an escape. An escape from the hot race, the sharp venom, the swollen bumps, the blood and the wounds.
Albeit It was meant to be an eye opener but the feelings I have for her was a big waver. So instead of learning the lessons of my life, I became a flicker of the truth overnight.
But then again, I am not a superstitionist.

Rising up from the bed, looking straight at the mirror, assessing my face and body, then I remembered that I was 'randy and dandy'. After that scenario, all I heard was my confident echo :
"with this, I should capitalize" !

No morning prayers, no breakfast, nothing !
My legs have never been so disrespectful. I found myself in her compound. But I couldn't see clearly ; people have gathered before her door : young and old, males and females. I was sure it wasn't a funeral, neither was it a sermon. But the cries and claps gave me a 'mixed feeling'. By then, I hated my legs, very disobedient !
I infused more energy and rushed down to the scene, almost penetrating the whole crowd, but in the end, my struggle gave me a glimpse. I got to a point that I could stretch my neck to watch, then I did that, I saw my crush ; the angel of my life on earth,but a 'lamia' in the spirit world, lying in the pool of her own blood, confessing her sins.
She said :
"I am a serpent in human form. Once in a while, I transform into my 'original' to kill. I killed my father for being too caring, I also killed all the five men that showed interest in me. And I was about to kill the last one, but his innocence saved him".
She concluded and die.

I was the last dude in question. And this is my "fairy tale".

*Written by✍🏽 dwanloaded

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86