Poem of the Old Man

in #poetry7 years ago

This poem is very dear to me. I'm glad I was able to write down such a poem that makes me feel different each time I read it while letting me know how I felt before. I hope it achieves something for the readers too. I've found this image on pinterest that pretty much fits the place I've imagined while writing this poem. Hope you enjoy.

f45f0e74018f0cae57b4c9d4bbb36ecf--cozy-library-dream-library.jpg
As the hours slide by my side
On a delightful, cozy night
Slightest detail overwhelms me,
Curiosity of what I might find.

I slowly attempt to reach,
Over the shelf, I flinch.
Cold breeze swings through,
Doorbell rings out of the blue.

Who dares to come at my door,
I am an old man, must be left alone!
Grabbing my walking stick,
I swear this is some kind of trick.

Time the door is fully open
I shiver, my hands are frozen.
This better be good I raise my head mumbling,
A child appears; weakened, almost crawling.

We sit by the fireplace all night,
The child is lost, terrored by dark.
While I'm all ears, listening to his story,
I pity this young fella, named Rory.

So full of life, he tries to stay awake.
But the night falls, giving our eyes a break.
Suddenly I am bothered by the light of day,
Then I realize, the kid left right away.

Lifting my old body from a wooden chair,
I find a note, thanking me for sparing him a nightmare.
Smiling for the first time in years,
Despair of a child drowned me in tears.

When have I become such a cranky old man,
Lost like the child, left in my own land.
Remedy is what I await,
I will have it the day I can never leave my bed.

Sort:  

Congratulations @drekthar25! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @drekthar25! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42