Little Brussel Sprouts

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

20180315_121157.jpg

There once was a brussel sprout, the tiniest of all
Who kept looking around the farm, the home where it grows
Many a vegetables he saw standing,
Plenty a fruits he saw thriving.

"I wish I could be as big as a cabbage
I look puny beside this glorious giant!
I can roll over and go a far distance I know
If only I can be like this cabbage I saw!"

20180315_121252.jpg

"I wish I could be as vibrant as that
Tomato I see right over that patch!
Look good I will, a vivid red I'll sport nicely
Should I be like the tomato who looks awesomely glowy!"

20180315_121623.jpg

"I wish I could be as pretty as a strawberry
An elegant beauty, one simply can't help staring!
As cute as a button, one would surely skip the mutton,
And go for the strawberry with exotic flavoring!"

20180315_121708.jpg

Little brussel sprout sighed, for he wishes to be
Of good use to the family whom he loved dearly.
With such competition he thought surely
He doesn't stand a chance to be picked gently.

He imagined a future where he grows old and wrinkly
And would fall off the stalk without being seen simply
He would rot and be stomped on the ground
And would be forgotten he was ever around.

Laughter he heard as the family approached
The patch of land they cultivated
For the fresh produce they needed.
Just as expected they went to harvest
Cabbage, tomato and straberries now in their baskets.

Little Mary tugged her farmer father's hand
And led the approach to where I stand
" I want this father, can I have brussel sprouts for dinner?
Tomatoes and strawberries Julie and Janice may like,
But I honestly don't care much for the tanginess they strike!
Cabbage is your favorite, I know it to be
Brussel sprouts though is just the right size for me!"

Hearing this the little brussel sprout felt proud
No need to envy he realized, whilst wowed.
Each is unique, with their own quality
That would fit somewhere, sometime or someone perfectly!

Stand proud, and celebrate your individuality!


Follow @bayanihan to view the work of exceptional PH talents!

Visit @sndbox page and learn about the amazing incubator for creatives and communities.

If you would like to support initiatives on community building and enrichment, kindly check out @steemph, @steemph.cebu, @steemph.iligan, @steemph.davao and @steemph.manila

Consider casting your witness votes for @precise, @steemgigs @cloh76.witness and @ausbitbank who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Type in the box the witness account, example below for @precise



dreamielygif.gif




Sort:  

Cute poetry :)
Standing proud! Great message @dreamiely <3

Thanks for sharing the details words. Such more touching my heart.

By the way, I upvoted and followed you. I have a poerty and maybe you want to give me feedback. Thanks @dreamiely

All Great Art Comes From Pain

https://steemit.com/poetry/@anggreklestari/bilingual-poetry-all-great-art-comes-from-pain-day-7-100-days-of-poetry-challenge

Lola..need mo update sa hubs, last year pa yan😂😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82