Quietly ThinkingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

I carry on a lot of internal dialog with me, myself, and I that I am reasonably confident is supported via essence that is not always front and center evident to me. I would not label my confidence to be faith or belief rather it is based on experiencing those random moments when I have been open to undeniably sense the presence of, and in a few rare instances, participated face-to-face with, manifested essence. I struggle to trust my filters and find that I am as able as anyone to interpret what I think I see, know, feel, hear, and generally speaking, sense; in ways that may or may not reflect true purpose and meaning of what is being made available for interpretation. My guess is we all have a seat in that boat.

So I frequently ponder life's meaning and do my best to consider many possibilities. Being true to form the Universe is generous with assistance. A thought here and a thought there becomes what I perceive as an inspiration that I feel obliged through want, to share with those who are open to alternative thought. There is no religion here, I do not do religion, this is experiential effect that is refined by spiritual foundations intended to be shared, and my perceptions of those experiences.

The following poem is the result of one of those previously referred to moments in time. I do not know if I interpreted this message correctly or in full, I review it occasionally to better understand content as form is not my concern. Perhaps one day a reader (manifested essence? That is a topic for another time) will help me sort through "A foggy confusion that no longer worries me" and improve my understanding of what has been given to ponder. Best.

Quietly Thinking

Stretched out lying in my bed
Thinking thoughts that may have been me then
Can't recall if it is from this childhood
Or another of a different time

From this swirling mixture of memories
A foggy confusion that no longer worries me
A moment of doubt that cannot hurt
Or even bring fears that used to be me

There is no need for clarity
Only understanding

There is no proof of life required
To continue on with this journey
To seek and live in hopes to find
The love that has been promised in my mind
Within the memories in my head
In thoughts while lying stretched our in my bed
©Douglass Jungquist 2004

Sort:  

Made me think of Robert Frost, though there are no blatant similarities. Two roads diverged in a wood and I. I chose the one less travelled by.

Who knows whose influences lurk in the Soul of any of us. When my head starts chattering I do my best to not pay attention. When my essence speaks I perk up and do whatever it takes to focus. Thanks for the comment and vote. Best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01