The stray

in #poetry5 years ago

IMG_0650 1-1.jpg

The stray.

I am that stray,
Who lives by the fence,
Of what was once my home,
I recall with nostalgia,
The warmth of the love,
My human owner,
Soaked me with,
As I bathed them,
With my ever wet tongue,
And appreciated every touch,
With a wagging tail,
As if to say, oh yeah,
I feel your love.

I remember that fateful night,
My human father was gone,
I never understood how,
But the sadness on their faces,
The unending flow of tears,
Their swollen eyes and red cheeks,
The mist between them and me,
That made them not to see me,
Even when they looked at me,
Told me that everything had changed,
They dressed in black I wasn't lucky,
As I my significance was compromised,
And my presence never felt.

After the funeral of my master,
The mortgage people came,
Dressed in suits and ever smiling,
Outwards so warm but within, cold,
They chased my human family away,
As they were unable to pay for the house,
My heart was heavy, for my favorite spot,
On the cosy coach of my master,
No one ever seemed to care any more,
About me or so I thought, I lied down,
Trying to warm them up but all was futile,
For the last time as to say goodbye,
I growled weakly and left for a walk.

My life is ruined, I eat from trash,
I am uncared for and unloved,
My body is full of scars from stones,
The human children throw at me,
I am weak and my flesh thin,
One can easily count my ribs
With eyes half shut
I get chased by the animal control guys,
Trying to get rid of me as I am less appealing,
Unlikely to be adopted by any family,
But here I am by the fence of my 'home',
For one last view for memories sake,
Before I join my master and be happy again.

~ Dominic L.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dommystone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44