You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "As He Demurs" (poem/article) >>> Toxic Masculinity ... or Ideological Hyperbole?

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

This was a very fascinating read. I’ve done a fair amount of reading on this topic and the most interesting thing I have read is the double standard that society applies to girls and boys while claiming that gender roles are equal and one is not “better” than the other. The example used was the young girl who has boyish tendencies: she is encouraged for her strength, praised for her leadership, and pushed to pursue this identity. On the other hand, the young boy who has more feminine tendencies (soft-spoken, kind, gentle) is generally shamed if not outright mocked, while being actively encouraged to be more assertive and less timid.

I guess where I fall on the idea (today at least, my views on this are constantly shifting) is that there are undeniable differences between the genders and to deny they exist is folly. However, there are exceptions to the stereotypical male and female mold on both sides: gentle, emotional, caretaker men and bold, aggressive, leading women. I think people should be encouraged to be themselves, regardless of whether it aligns with traditional roles. But this concept can be taken way too far, and I agree there are baseline expectations of a man (physically defend his family and country, for example). I like your active rejection of ideology a lot - I will have to try and adopt that myself.

#steemitbloggers

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43