Outrun

in #poetry6 years ago

early-morning-run.jpg

OUTRUN

Sometimes
I want
to run
forever

Away
from
the noise
pollution

And
those
who don't
listen

Even
away from
my own
thoughts

That hurt
and burn
holes
in my soul

But
the sun
eventually
sets

If you wait
long enough
and keep your
eyes open

Not block
the feelings
of inadequacy
and shame

That you
can't outrun
regardless of
speed

The sun
rises again
and ends your
slumber

Rage
ensues
abdicating
responsibility

Again
attempting
to outrun
time

Fate
takes hold
and teaches
you nothing

You are
washed of
guilt and
regret

Then
you wake up
and the dream
is a nightmare

You are
alive
and feel
it all

All the pain
and misery
and loss
all over again

If you enjoy this post please RESTEEM - UPVOTE - COMMENT - FOLLOW @doghaus

© Doghaus
3 April 2018

I own all rights to the text in this post.

Image https://goo.gl/images/ssPMCp

Honestly,
Doghaus

Sort:  

Why #coward ?
Running away is not always failure.

I agree @janikmoody, especially if you eventually come back to where you started. I guess I was alluding to the thought to run in the first place, that initial desire to flee versus stay and "work it out". I guess it really depends on the situation.

Yeah you‘re right.
In the „not facing your own demons“-way.

You may temporarily hide from your baggage, but you can't run forever. They do catch up. You need to face them head on and deal with it!

Sometimes temporary is all we need @cecicastor but we take more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01