Port Royal ( 100 Days of Poetry) {Day #61}

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

A bottle of wine lay in the middle of the lantern lit street. The passerby careful where they place their feet. The drunkard pirates await, the next worthy bait.

"ARHHHH mi lady, have a drink of this fine Spanish wine before you go on your way!".

To say no to these men would be worse than a haunting. One sip, a few coughs from the over-proofed wine, a loud cheer from the pirates and squawks from the parrots.

The sound of drunkard richness was the melody of the nights.
Welcome to Port Royal.

The richest and most feared pirates from as far as Madagascar, gathered to spend their loot on rums, wines and women.

Sodom and Gomorrah of the new world, law and order were left to drown at bay.

One day, the heavens frowned with deep disgust, the earth moaned from the red rum and blood mixed in its mud. The earth shook violently, fitting for the violent drunkards who ruled the Port.

Around 11:43 the sea came alive,
all the sins swallowed soulfully in the taverns, forming a wave that swallowed most of the Port.

Half the city, sank to the ocean bed.
Time would bury treasures in a blanket of sand. A glimpse of memories, sinful and grand.

The Pirate spirits still walks this land.

--100 Day Challenge!--
5.7. 2018
See the original post about the competition here
Join the Steemit School discord group for the latest info on the contest, free classes on a variety of topics, how to be successful on steemit and more awesome good stuff.
Thank you for reading! I appreciate it.

download (1).gif

Image Source123

Sort:  

This was a lot of fun to read. I love reading material from the 100 days challenge. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @honeysim. Congratulations.

Thank you very much! I’m glad you had fun reading it, I surely enjoyed writing it:)
I’ll say it again, this contest is positively interesting.

I came to your post because @honeysim featured you in the "Pay It Forward " contest

Thank you , the contest that keeps on giving ! Interesting

Your writing has a toponymic trait that deals with a Jamaican mythical history, according to what I deduce. You know what you are talking about and you transmit it with confidence, weaving an anthropogenic myth. Good work, my friend!

Thank you, these were the real pirates of the Caribbean. The true story of Port Royal talked about in the movie "pirates of the Caribbean". Port Royal was a dangerous place.

@dmilliz, you took a historical moment that lived years ago and brought it back to life....this is a very vivid description of what was and what still remains. How great an opportunity it would be for us to actually take a trip to the bottom of the ocean and meet that part of the city that once was. Port Royal was once the most dangerous place on earth. Today, it depicts a calm and welcomes yaadies and foreigners alike into its rich-historical arms.

Hey see what you did....you took me deep man. I almost wrote another poem from just reading yours. I love this one and I think it worthy of more visibility so I am gonna feature you in my Curation contest this week. Keep up the good work dear. Youre truly an inspiration.

Please see the link below for the contest and how it works.
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@thedarkhorse/week-6-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-win-sbi-and-steem-bounty

P.S. I will drop you a link when i have sent in my entry.

Thank you for your heartful comment! Give thanks. Really glad you appreciated the flash back in time. I could go Gloria’s right now and eat some steam fish, festival and bammy !
More visibility would be good:) thanks for that!
Imgonnachevk our that curation contest. I’ve seen it but never really pree-ed it.

Please dont talk about Gloria's, lol. Yeah man, you should check it out. Here is a link to my entry in which you are featured

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@honeysim/my-entry-to-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-6-win-sbi-and-steem-bounty-by-thedarkhorse

Very nice writing, I appreciated it, and the pictures you chose were very nice. I found you post because of @honeysim's "Pay it Forward" contest post.

Glad you appreciated it. Happy to hear that :) this contest unu guys are in is amazing . Positive vibes

Nice to meet you. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @honeysim. Congratulations.
This was a very well done post, I see big things in your future here.

~ErodedThoughts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70