That is me. Always.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Strength is underrated
It conquers foes
It overcomes struggles
With it many won battles
I am strengthened
That is me.


Strength is not enough
Wisdom is needed for life
Money is needed for everything
Family is needed for companionship
I am wise, earning and loved
That is me.


Strength is overrated
It may give the assurance of false safety
It may cover up weaknesses
With love it is usually not needed
I am loving
That is me.


Strength is underrated
Strength is not enough
Strength is overrated
I am wise, earning, loving and loved
But still, still, I am a strong woman
That is me. Always.

image
[From my Gallery]

I have loved the featured image since the day I first saw it. It resonated with me instantly; the colours, the bold words, and the graphics repeating the same words felt like resounding echoes saying, "I'm a strong woman, I'm a strong woman, I'm a strong woman," for all and sundry to hear.

There are days I gaze at it to convince myself that that is who I am. There are days I look at it and congratulate myself on living up to it, and there are days I just look at it and my tears are blinked away. There are days...

I am a strong woman.

Now you know why my 'about me' reads thus... "I am a strong woman. I write."

@djoi writes

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @djoi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @djoi!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.446 which ranks you at #37446 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 59 places in the last three days (old rank 37505).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 441 contributions, your post is ranked at #269.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94