YOU HEARD MY VOICE

in #poetry6 years ago

images.jpeg
Gone are the days
When I was stuck in my ways
Nowadays when I fall
I just get up , dust my back
And move on

I ran a thousand times
To mountains
Just to seek your face
And in your heart
Hoping to Find a place .

I was born
without a silver spoon
Neither was I given
a wooden spoon
I had no spoon to scoop .

I was running out of time
Getting older by the day
Yet ,
nothing to show .

I had to walk
without a ride
No friend to lend
a helping hand .
No connections to get me
to the promise land
No means to bribe my way through .

I had to struggle for a space
3 years denied my right to education ,
I became a laughing stock
To family and friends .

Every night
Crying silently
On my knees
Casting and binding
unforeseen forces
Reciting the verses of the holy book
like poems in literature.
Using all forms of figures of speech
Repetition , metaphors
But mostly rhetoric
"Has God not said it ?"
"Won't he do it ?"
That became my national anthem for years as I kept
seeking the face
of the almighty .

I fell a thousand times to sin
Like an unbeliever .
Forgot the chapters and verses
Of the holy book

I got tired of crying
My tears dried up
I no longer prayed
I no longer seeked his face
I no longer waited on him
Frustration , depression and regret
Became my chum .

But then He ,
the I am that I am
He kept stretching out His arms to me
Saying it isn't over
He breathed fire into my bones
An

Sort:  

I got tired of crying
My tears dried up
I no longer prayed
I no longer seeked his face
so sweet

Beautiful photo

Beautiful photo

Beautiful photo

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Your post has been featured on @wafrica.

Courtesy of @nmalove

thanks for the support

Very nice ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58