Not a bedtime story I

in #poetry6 years ago

bird-2361184_960_720.jpg

I saw daddy shot a little bird.
The sound echoed through the woods and sent a trembling under my feet.
Daddy walked away, searching for his pray
but I got it first.
I took the little feather corpse and put it close to my face.
I breathed in -the smell of death-
the little bird would never fly again
(just like mommy
just like me).
So I made a wish to the Fairy Queen
to give daddy's soul to my little bird.

I step into a mushroom ring
and wait for the lights to bring me back to thee
you asked for a price
in order to grant my wish
and I said I would give away -what was left of me-

I would go blind
I would lose touch
I would plunge my voice -into the sea-

so bad daddys won't ever get their hands -again-
over little birds on the trees.

.
.
.
.
.

Picture: Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51