Me and Society

in #poetry6 years ago

Me and Society

I saved and saved all my change until I could buy a restaurant meal one day
I dug holes and washed dishes all throughout May
As I entered the restaurant, it was a faraway place
A 20’s speakeasy fantasy set in outer space
They saw my clothes, generic, dirty, no label
The hostess looked down on me but showed me to a table
The waitress took her time, even though I knew what I wanted a month ago
She finally came and asked me my order, “Hello, what do you want? My name’s Flo.”
I told her “I want a T-bone steak medium rare, with a baked potato, broccoli, a dinner salad with ranch, and glass of water and coffee”
She snorted at me, “you know it’s not free.”
“I have two jobs. I’m employed.”
With a distrustful look, she walked away annoyed
I sipped my coffee and looked around
Across the room, in a booth, was a man staring me down
I dropped my gaze to the ground
At the bar were some young guys in jeans and shirts, drinking beer
I knew why they were over there and I was hidden, over here
Keep the fringe out of sight
Take their money, let them have a bite
Give them the old food, starting to mold
Then rush them out, into the cold
It’s okay, today I get a taste
I will work harder, it won’t be a waste
She brought out my plates and laid down the check
I ignored her attitude and prepared my flight deck
I cut the steak, black and overcooked
The broccoli and potato cold, un-microwaved yet precooked
I knew I was slighted, treated unfairly
If I sent it back, it might return hairy
So instead of wasting my time and money, I got up to walk out
In a flash, the manager rushed me and began to spout
“Are you trying to dine and dash?”
“No, I didn’t eat anything here today, I left a dollar for the coffee.”
He looked at my table and saw a full plate, “you have to pay for that.”
I told him, “I won’t pay for something I didn’t order.
I ordered a medium rare steak, cooked broccoli, and a baked potato
You sent me a burnt steak, frozen veggies, and a rock
…service was terrible so let go of my arm, it’s going numb.”
“You aren’t going anywhere, you bum.”
I pulled my arm away and he wouldn’t stop
A middle-aged man that thought he was on top
“I’m calling the police,” he yelled.
I started to walk out, disrespected, my anger swelled
Even bums have feelings you know
He grabbed my shoulder and gave me a blow
I cried out in pain, all the customers turned
They saw who I was, and looked away, unconcerned
I have no money and a bit of anxiety.
Is this my value in society?
I laid on the floor, silently cried
The police rushed in, the manager lied
They handcuffed me and ignored my side
I went to jail and waited for court
Bail was set at five hundred dollars, of course, I fell short
In jail a month waiting to see a judge
Lost my job and won’t get it back, my boss holds a grudge
Lost my spot on the bench where the wind is blocked
At least I’m warm in here behind the bars, locked
I have been homeless 7 years
7 long years of shedding tears
I was going to kill myself when it all started
I was optimistic, still a life uncharted
It didn’t and it won’t get better
I still have a family, I should write a final letter
I can tie my jumpsuit into a noose
Make sure it’s tight, not even a little loose
Hang from the pipes
Reinforcing stereotypes
Goodbye earth, people, and life
You know I used to have a wife
You think about weird things when it’s done
I kind of wish I had a gun
The noose is holding, I hope it doesn’t drop
I start to gasp for air, wanting it to stop
After a few minutes of struggle, I was finally dead
My letter resting on the bed
They threw it out, along with me
Just another bum, human debris

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47