The Past: The Graveyard of Many Dreams (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Like a knight in shining armor, well kitted in the full regalia of war
It holds my throat to the spear as though my time is about to be no more
I fight tooth and nail, all the time to set myself free from taking that trip
It always comes to nothing, because I find myself slipping back into its firm old grip

The Past is a strongman, a stronghold, who fights bitterly and terribly
It doesn't understand fair play, neither does it know truce even when brokered subtly
Given half a chance every time you open the door
it's ever ready to take you down, make you captive without sticks, stones or claws


Image credit [Degrassi Wiki]

When brutal, it uses it's greatest weapon of war
With guilt, it gets to accomplish even much more!
If it can drag you into the ring of 'could have, would have, should have!'
Then without a doubt, the game is already over even before you can turn to say haa!

You need to rise up and take the battle to the enemy
You must get fired up, to take your dreams back from this 'frenemy'
Wrestle with your mind to get the all clear for your life.
'Cos If you don't, no matter how far you go, Its chains around your neck and limbs
Are within reach to snatch and rein you back in.


Image credit [Informative Quotes]

Let the pain of your early years remain in the grave
Keep the disappointments your life has known till yesterday confined to a cave
Other wise, the future becomes a slave, out of which nothing great can flow or stream
And the Past will always remain, a graveyard of many of your lifelong dreams


Image credit [Brainy Quote]

If you have enjoyed this post, please upvote, follow @delphia16 and resteem! If you didn't, upvote anyway!

Happy Steeming!

Sort:  

Beautiful poem...

One thing I do; forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal, for the prize of the upward call of God in Jesus Christ --Phillipians 3 :13,14 😅😉😎

Thanks @gpa for that Bible verse, it sure makes sense with this post.

Yer very welcome *-)

Thanks @steemafia for your comment, truly encouraging and I appreciate it

So now, note to myself..
LEAVE THE PAST, IN THE PAST.. lols😂😂

@lhey18, thanks for reading through my poem, I appreciate it

This is beautiful. Great poem! Highly motivational. Wowwwwwwwwwwww.

hmm nice poem. really it's Original poem. nice :-) @delphia16

Thanks @sumonpra for your lovely comment, truly appreciate it

Thanks @jiwan21 for your comment, truly encouraging. Thank you

I really like it, it's lovely.
You can write really nice - pleasant to read your posts.
Thank you very much @delphia16

(What is your name in discord - steemitbloggers ?)

@nirgf, thanks for reading my post and thanks for the kind words too. My name on the discord is Del

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50