Goodbye Family!

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

imageSource

Family! While growing up, this was a word I only associated with my parents and siblings but as I got older I had a better understanding of the word.

This is a little piece about the people I later called family while in school, Enjoy

image

Family, that's what we were
Oh how the times fly
And how much things change
One minute we were inseparable
And now we don't even speak
All because we aren't in the same space.

I wish I could say I didn't see this coming
But it was just too obvious,
We always found it hard to stay in touch
Over the holidays, we were radio silent.

But i thought we'd grown
Or at least I wished it
But who was I fooling
We stopped being family
The very moment we left school.

When we said our goodbye's
The excitement of graduation
Oh! Well
I guess I have to move on
Because they all have.

I wish they know I still care
I wish they know I'm still here
For them I'd always share
My body, time, and resources
They might have moved on
But to me they'd always remain,
Family.

hd16boensr.gif

Sort:  

Such is life. It is not limited to just school. Even on steemit, those you spend so much time with feels like family but the statement "out of sight is out of mind" still applies. Beautiful poetry @dawizy

That's true, I guess it's in human nature to forget... It's sad but I don't really blame anybody again, I just feel sad for awhile then I move on.

Thanks for stopping by and for the comment.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

CONGRATULATIONS....

YOUR AWESOME POST WAS SELCECTED IN THE @wafrica DAILY CURATION

COURTESY: @julietisrael

Nice Job. 👍

Wow! This is a lovely piece
If only most people know that I care about them even though I may not be always present it could have been better

Don't worry dear, I guess with time they'll recognize it and just continue being you!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dawizy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37